From the beginning...

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by KeithPratt, May 17, 2009.

1. KeithPratt macrumors 6502a

I've searched and read through a number of threads, but I think the best advice will come from posting a fresh question. I'm totally new to all this and finding it a pain to find concise answers without knowing the nomenclature or exactly what I'm looking for. And I'm worried if I try to do this on my own by visiting all the websites I've seen recommended here, I'll be taken in by their flashy presentation and clever terms, and not know what the hell I've ended up signing up to.

Anyway... It's probably best if I describe my situation and you can chime in however you see fit.

So:

I'm about to purchase two domains. Ultimately I intend for them to both navigate to the same website, but for the next few months I want to put up a very basic site as a sort of placeholder. We're talking one sentence and a JPEG. Then over the coming few months I'll try to learn the web design basics and find a host to go with long-term.

What I'm looking for is a hosting service that's very cheap (ideally free, but I'm not holding my breath) to use for a few months. As I've said, there will be practically nothing on the site, and I'm expecting very few visitors, so bandwidth will be very low. I want to put the site(s) up now for various reasons — but not least because it would give me opportunity to try a few things out as I learn.

So any recommendations/advice on a very cheap and simple hosting service with no long-term contract?

Oh, and I'm thinking of using Zen to buy the domains (I'm UK-based). Anyone have any comment to make on that? And I'm currently using RapidWeaver, so any suggestions for plug-ins/add-ons to give me a little more customizability are also welcome.

Thanks in advance for any help. (And sorry it was so long.)

2. Cabbit macrumors 68020

Cabbit