Front bezel iMac G5 (Intel) won't fit properly

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 007 Junior, Jul 5, 2013.

  1. 007 Junior, Jul 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2013

    007 Junior macrumors regular

    007 Junior

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #1
    Hi there,

    So, I bought this iMac a little while ago to fix it up. The screen was partly broken, so I replaced it. Now I'm stuck with this (minor) problem. It's about the front bezel of the iMac. I can't get it fit properly at all. You can still feel a small edge of the back of the computer, which needs to be overlapped by the front bezel. I also mentioned that there's some springiness between de bezel and the rest of the computer.

    I know most people don't really care, but I'm very precise on these sort of things. I've added some photo's and a video (in which it does fit) to show you what I mean.

    Hope you guys can help me out! :D

    Video:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RjsIU1XEkME

    Photo's:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #2
    Fairly common, the latches are connecting properly. pretty easy fix.

    if you have an access card, black stick or other nylon/plastic tool you can use it will be helpful.
    remove the front bezel and you can attempt the seat the top of the bezel in first and ensure that the cables are tucked away and the latches go into place.
    if you have a black stick, you can help guide the latches into place prior to fully snapping it into place.
    you can do this from the front with the bezel slightly adjusted. slightly push the plastic tool against the bottom of the latch
     
  3. Omnius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #3
    intel imacs dont have g5s and g5s dont have intel chips.
     
  4. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #4
    Presume he meant "Generation 5" as in iMac 5,1
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    Could be a 4,1 or a 4,2 or a 5,1 or a 6,1 even.
     
  6. Omnius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    #6
    Ah, yeah I didn't get that memo at all.
     
  7. 007 Junior thread starter macrumors regular

    007 Junior

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    I meant the iMac 5,1. Sorry for being unclear.
     

Share This Page