front row and perian

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mcmacmcmac, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. mcmacmcmac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #1
    so i installed perian and now i can play my downloaded shows just fine in quicktime, but not i front row.. i dont get it, i thought front row plays through quicktime.. i moved my files to the movies folder in front row and they are there but won't play like they do right in quicktime..

    anyone know what's going on here?
     
  2. mcmacmcmac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #2
    well it started working, so that problem's solved.

    but i got a quick question
    is there a shortcut to quitting front row with the remote instead of clicking menu 5 times
     
  3. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #3
    i'm having this problem too. what did you do to fix it?
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    I suspect you installed Perian only for your local user. I'm thinking you'll have to install it for ALL users if you're using Frontrow.

    As for a shortcut.. that depends on if you're running Leopard or Tiger.
     
  5. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    nope, that didn't work. i uninstalled, and then re-installed perian for all users, and no joy. quick look doesn't load the .avi files i have either, but quicktime does.
     
  6. aloevlund macrumors newbie

    aloevlund

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #6
    I don't know about Tiger but in Leopard you just have to press and hold the menu button.

    -Anders
     

Share This Page