Front Row can't see internet connection?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Thunderbird8, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. Thunderbird8 macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Front Row says there is no internet connection when I choose the movie trailer section. Trouble is I do have a live (wireless) connection. The connection is fine because we have a laptop too and Front Row works on that no problem.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. Thunderbird8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  3. Brandon3003 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #3
    I have the same problem. Haven't found a solution yet.
     
  4. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    ditto, (mac pro) though i havnt looked into fixing it yet, havnt had the time, if i find a fix ill post.
     
  5. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    just did the front row software update out today but didnt help
     
  6. Thunderbird8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    At least it isn't just me!

    Anything else bugging you about the new mac pros?
     
  7. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
  8. Thunderbird8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    OK - just downloaded the 21MB Front Row update and bang, pow...no, still fu*ked.
     
  9. serverplads macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Ye, i also have that problem! It's really annoying...
     
  10. syrix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    #10
    Hello all,
    I bought a 24" Imac, 2.4 GHZ, 4 G Ram, 320 G HD two days ago. My internet connection is a Novatel CDMA wireless BB card via Sprint (which runs like a champ btw). I am having the same issue as everyone else here. Front row says 'no internet connection available'....Bummer!!! Against my better judgment I tried a few work arounds listed here with no luck.
    Just thought I'd try and help keep this one alive.....man, I miss the stability of my 12" powerbook. Re-installing Leopard for the third time.....another thread:)
     
  11. Thunderbird8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    It works on our Leopard Macbook, just not on the Pro'. Weird.
     
  12. architectflo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #12
    Hi guys,

    My front row used to work just fine until I changed my usual Internet (LAN) connection with a USB 3G modem. Now Front Row refuses to detect the new Internet connection.

    Seems like it has difficulties to detect alternative connections.
     
  13. Thunderbird8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Yes, it does. It seems that it is temperamental. On my MP I have to use a wired Ethernet connection for front row to work, but wireless on the MB it's fine.
     
  14. jwsand macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #14
    The Fix

    Resolution :)

    Use one of these workarounds:

    * Run an Ethernet cable between the two Ethernet ports on the back of the computer.
    or
    * Connect an Ethernet cable to one of the Ethernet ports on the computer (the other end should be connected to a hub, switch, or router so that the network connection is reported as "Connected" in Network preferences, in System Preferences). The Ethernet connection does not need to provide network services or Internet access, but needs to be connected.

    Source: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1357
     
  15. nemit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #15
    Here is a simple solution to the problem..
    It works great for me using leopard!

    Go to System Preferences
    Open Sharing
    Select and tick the Internet Sharing checkbox

    Where is says "Share your connection from:" choose the device providing your active internet connection.

    Where is says: "To computers using:" select and tick Airport.
    You will then be asked to enable airport, if it is not already.


    Now front Row can access your internet connection.

    hope this helps

    Mat :)
     
  16. erichkooi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #16
    Hi,
    I tried all in above but still no luck.

    I am on Leopard 10.5.8 with Dlink USB G-122 to access internet.
    All applications are working fine except Front Row that unable to connect to internet.

    Anyone found the solution on this?

    Thanks in advance,
    Eric
     
  17. Sam247 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    #17
    wow

    wow, guys, I dont know how old this thread was. but I have a 2009 Mac Pro. and have been using front row for a while. but always missed the trailer feature that i can get on my macbook. Further up this thread someone suggesting plugging two ends of an ethernet cable into the two ports on back of machine. IT WORKED!!! to be honest i didnt even know it had two ports lol
     

Share This Page