Front row effects

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Watabou, Mar 29, 2008.

  1. Watabou macrumors 68040

    Watabou

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    You know how when you enter Front row, it's supposed to come of from the bottom and the desktop goes back?

    While I don't have that effect. Instead, mine just fades in.

    The menus in my front row are not even the same. I thought they were all laid down in a circle and not as a menu items in top to bottom.

    Does anyone know what I am talking about and how to fix this?
     
  2. allbrokeup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    Yes.

    You are using Front Row 2.0 that came with Leopard. The fall back and circle thingy happens in 1.3 in Tiger only.

    Hope this clarifies.

    a l l b r o k e u p

    P.S. Front Row 2.0 is better so don't fret :D
     
  3. Watabou thread starter macrumors 68040

    Watabou

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    Well. This sucks. Why did they have to remove the animation?

    And how is front row 2.0 better than 1.3?

    Did they add some new features? Is there any way t go back to 1.3?
     
  4. mackindergarten macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
  5. allbrokeup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    I originally hated FR 2.0, and tried to install 1.3. The installer belched a request of '10.4.5 and a Mac with an IR port' error at me, so no. It is impossible to use FR 1.3 on Leopard. Well unless you can hack installer PKG's but that is quite difficult. Personally... Now I like FR 2.0 better as I discovered the Apple TV and found that FR has the same interface :D:D

    I used this method to get FR 1.3 running on Leo:

    Partition Drive using Boot Camp (make sure its an Intel Mac)
    Open up Disk Utility
    Click the 'BOOTCAMP' partition
    Select Erase
    Choose 'Mac OS Extended (Journaled)' as the format
    Click Erase
    Insert OS X 10.4 install Disc, locate 'OSInstall.mpkg' in /Mac OS X Install Disc 1/System/Installation/Packages/OSInstall.mpkg (allows install of Tiger without Reboot)

    Then install Mac OS X Tiger (10.4) ONLY if the computer originally came with Tiger. If it came with Leopard then don't perform the above method or it will lower the performance of your Mac dramatically.

    a l l b r o k e u p

    Edit: Having 2 partitions with Leo and Tiger works great. Erase Tiger as MS-DOS and install XP or Vista. Then if needed, Erase XP as Mac OS Extended and install Tiger again.
     
  6. Watabou thread starter macrumors 68040

    Watabou

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    United States

Share This Page