Front Row for Lion (with Arabic!)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by AnonMac50, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. AnonMac50 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #1
    Finally Lion has been released, and the NDA lifted, and I can now finally provide a package I made for Lion that installs Front Row. I used the files from the ABMME package for OS X (it installs an Arabic language pack for Snow Leopard, and you can download it from their site). I combined files from that and ones from normal Snow Leopard to provide Front Row for Lion. If I find any more localization packs I'll update the package to support that. Please direct me to any localization packs you can find. This fits in with Apple's idea of many language support in Lion. Enjoy, and tell me what you think.


    http://cl.ly/0E3i0X271u34392U3v42
     
  2. PeterHolbrook, Jul 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011

    PeterHolbrook macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #2
    Can you clarify if this version of Front Row is higher than 2.2.1 or if the internal links to iTunes have been somehow modified to make it compatible with the latest xml structure? Thanks.

    PS I answer myself: No, it isn't compatible with the latest iTunes (10.4) xml structure. Is it feasible to somehow modify Front Row internal links to iTunes to make it compatible again?
     
  3. AnonMac50, Jul 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011

    AnonMac50 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #3
    Wait, what?

    I don't know if it might be possible to fix it (I'll try), but does it also break it on Snow Leopard?

    EDIT:
    EDIT 2:

    What version of the iTunes Library does iTunes 10.4 use?
     
  4. BlueHedgehog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #4
    Same here. Doesn't find songs or podcasts in my iTunes library.

    Otherwise, it works well. (Even the Cmd+Esc and MENU shortcuts work!:D)
     
  5. AnonMac50 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #5
    I am working on finding the iTunes Library version or converting it or something, but meanwhile, I am waiting for Apple's update to Front Row, if there will ever be one.

    AnonMac50
     
  6. AnonMac50 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #6
    Believe it or not, iTunes 10.4 on Snow Leopard with Front Row, and Front Row still functions. What's going on?
     
  7. BlueHedgehog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    #7
    Same here. I'm also confused.
     
  8. AnonMac50 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #8
    So I'm not the only one. I'm working on a fix for Lion.
     
  9. AnonMac50 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #9
    Check this hint out:

    http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20110915094018524

    However, for Front Row for with the previous way (if you don't like iTunes Library Sharing for example) I think it is because it is 64-bit, not 32-bit, it might have some sort of different library version or way of using the file. For example, Front Row works in Leopard and Snow Leopard with iTunes 10.4, but it doesn't with Lion. This is probably for that reason, but this is just a guess.
     
  10. brownjd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #10
    Can anyone confirm if Front Row works with Snow Leopard 10.6.8 and iTunes 10.5?

    If so, can someone post up the support files so we can try it with Lion?
     
  11. AnonMac50 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #11
    It works.

    Which support files do you want?

    PS What happens if you start iTunes 32-bit and rebuild your iTunes database in Lion?
     

Share This Page