Front Row Hack and Updating OS X

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Sawtoothdude, Jun 23, 2007.

  1. Sawtoothdude macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #1
    Hello, I have a Powermac G4 that I used the Front Row hack on to enable it on my machine, I am wanting to update my OS to be able to use the new Safari, I currently have 10.4.6.

    The Problem: I remember hearing that when some people updated their OS to 10.4.7 or 10.4.8 that they were going into infinite booting loops and other odd problems, I wan to know if this will happen to me if i do the 10.4.9 update. I want to just go to .9 because i have heard of .10 problems, please let me know if any of this will occur on my Mac.

    Thanks a Bunch,
    Sawtoothdude
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Disable the Front Row hack and then install the updates.
     
  3. Sawtoothdude thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #3
    how do you disable the hack?, i have deleted every file on my computer with the words front row in it and it still shows up with F13 key..
     
  4. Dustman macrumors 65816

    Dustman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    #4
    :eek: There's an F13 Key?! ..Mine only goes up to 12 :(
     
  5. Sawtoothdude thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #5
    LOL i Go all the way to F16 over here.

    Would it be safe to update since the system files (i guess) associated with it are gone, but then why would it still be showing up?
     

Share This Page