FRONT ROW - nobody knows:(

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by macfan1970, Oct 19, 2010.

  1. macfan1970 macrumors newbie

    macfan1970

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    hi from newbe!
    I searched for many forums and got no answer??? :(
    Maybe it's impossible but I heard I find the best pro users right here:D
    So my problem is:
    I have my big CD's collection imported into iTunes /Apple loseless codec/ - now I have my music in my hand /apple remote/
    My wife has the same on the same mac - collection not remote:D
    In IT we have 2 playlists /her and mine music/
    We can search for songs, bands, CD name etc..
    However, problem starts with the Front Row
    There is no possibility to have the same option, just scroll down a playlist /???!!!/
    If I have 10 Cd's there's no problem - with 800 there is
    Hope, you know the trick or certain answer how to use FR in the same way as IT
    BIG THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ps. Leo on board
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    I don't understand your problem, exactly. You can certainly scroll down any iTunes playlist in Front Row, find the song/video/etc. you want to play, and start it, all with the remote. This works regardless of whether you're using the Tiger version of FR or the revamped one in Leopard/SL.
     
  3. macfan1970 thread starter macrumors newbie

    macfan1970

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    OK, maybe didn't wrote it clear
    We have Leopard on board
    In iTunes having hundreds of CDs I can scroll them down/up /same in FR/ and see CD labels or type what I need in spotlight
    FR is similar - I can searchl for artist/song/genre etc but ONLY in normal mode
    I look for the same option in FR using playlists because scrolling so huge titles is almost impossible /there is no option searching for label/artist /
    So if my wife has 500 CDs and me another 500 it's logical to have two playlists
    There's only my music on my playlist - navigation in that case is extremely poor:(
    When a CD consists of - takes 10 songs - then we have 5000 songs to scroll down!!!
    It's so natural so I'm sure apple gives possibility to drive it properly but I have no idea how :D
     
  4. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    Yeah, I don't use Front Row much. However, it lacks a search feature. The best solution is to use playlist folders to further subdivide each music collection however you see fit - then, scrolling through becomes MUCH more manageable. I must admit, I have never seen before a use case like yours, where all music is stuffed into just 2 playlists.
     
  5. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Do you have an iPhone or iPod Touch? If so, download Apple's free Remote app. It's a much better way of accessing your iTunes library remotely.
     
  6. macfan1970 thread starter macrumors newbie

    macfan1970

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    For example we have 1000 CD in main library
    So I divided main library/playlists into two libraries - mine & wife's
    She have just a classical music, me hard rock.
    It's senseless to have two macs to have two libraries
    So the best & simpliest solution is to have 2 playlists
    If I want to listen to it I'd choose my playlist and surf on my music only

    Thanks for reply
    Of course I have iPhone and remote as well
    However, FR and remote are designed for playing
    Imagine a big LCD during party or nigh meal and music around...
    I'd prefer to have a black scren just with cover label and some data instead of a big, white screen with iTunes :):):)
     
  7. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #7
    You know instead of just dividing them by playlist, you could create multiple libraries.
     
  8. macfan1970 thread starter macrumors newbie

    macfan1970

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Location:
    Poland
    #8
    Perhaps it's the best and only solution
    Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     

Share This Page