Front Row on an External Display?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by cayley, Apr 26, 2007.

  1. cayley macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a MacBook and an external display attached to it. When I use Front Row, the external display goes blank and Front Row takes up the MacBook screen. Is there a way to reverse the two? Or better yet, have Front Row on the external display, and have a normal, workable screen on the macbook display?
     
  2. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #2
    Drag Window To The External Then Go Full Screen Out There

    Either Preferences lets you choose which screen for it to go Full on OR if you first drag the window you want to go full screen to the external screeen then the go full screen command will fill that screen instead of your MacBook's screen.

    Former is the new way. Later is the old way. :)
     
  3. Yoursh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    #3
    Under video settings you have to set it 'mirror mode'. It will display whatever is on the Macbook screen on the external one, including front row. So far I haven't seen a way to show front row on an external machine and the desktop on the Macbook. Front row takes over the desktop from what I've seen, so it doesn't allow it to be used at the same time.
     
  4. cayley thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    #4
    I was familiar with this method. The only problem is the resolution on my external is different from the MacBook. If I mirror, there are blank areas above and below Front Row on the external display.

    Is there a way to actually switch the roles?
     
  5. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #5
    Move Your Menu Bar To The External Screen In The Displays Arrangement Pane

    Open your Displays System Preference. Leave Mirror OFF. Click to the Arrangement PANE. Drag the little white menu bar from the icon of your MacBook screen to the top of the external screen's icon. Then your home screen will be on the external display and Front Page will be based on the external screen like all other applications until you unplug the external screen. :) Makes your MacBook Display just a small place for minor odds and ends and your MacBook is a lot more like a desktop Mac such as the 24" iMac with an external 24" Dell or ADC..
     
  6. Yoursh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    MN
    #6
    Well what do you know....... I've been running into the same issue as the original poster, never thought that Front row was tied with the menu bar. I guess I learn something new everyday.
     
  7. cayley thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    #7


    Ah.... Perfect! :) Thanks a bunch!
     
  8. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #8
    I have my new iMac linked to an LCD TV... I want everything on my Mac but would like Front Row to start on the TV rather than the iMac. Does anyone know if there are preferences or will be in Leopard for this arrangement?
     
  9. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    it has nothing to do with the menu bar, its just tied to the primary display (which is where the menu bar is, moving the menu bar is just apples cheesy way of picking which screen is primary and which is extended, they cant be simple like MS and just let you click the box that says "use as primary display" apple has to be difficult
     
  10. Rapmastac1 macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #10
    I use a 22inch Screen and all I do is close my Macbook (keeps things speedy anyways) You can still restart and all that (but this requires an external keyboard and mouse...
     

Share This Page