Front Row

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Thunderbird8, May 31, 2008.

  1. Thunderbird8 macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    A LOT more info is needed.

    What is the problem?
    What have you tired to fix it?
    etc.
     
  3. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #3
    PPC or Intel? Wireless or manual?
     
  4. Lord Zedd macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #4
    It was never supposed to work with the MacPro.
     
  5. Thunderbird8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Aah. I see. That would be why then. It does work, but the theatrical trailer does not. It won't see the internet connection. It is a common problem apparently.
     
  6. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #6
    Hi,

    It does work on Mac Pro, although it didn't work on the early versions of MP. MP does not recognize Apple Remote (as far as I know, it's a common issue), but you can google to find a work-arounds.

    sash
     
  7. Thunderbird8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Hi

    Can i just ask, what would be considered an early version of Mac Pro? Mine was bought in March.
     
  8. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #8
  9. Thunderbird8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Solved - I hard wired the machine to my modem and it works. Just did not work wirelessly.
     
  10. jazz1 macrumors 65816

    jazz1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Location:
    Mid-West USA
    #10
    I thought I read an Apple work around for FR where you plug both ends of an Ethernet cable into both of the Ethernet ports (I assume this is for people that are using wireless). This loop is supposed to fix the problem with FR not playing the Theatrical Trailers. I have not tried this yet.
     
  11. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #11
    You have this incorrect, the original MP shipped with 10.4. Which had front row disabled. You could enable it be simply making the machine think the mouse was the remote and then it would launch.

    Anyone who installed 10.5 on ANY MP makes it work just fine. No tinkering needed.
     
  12. Erwin-Br macrumors 6502a

    Erwin-Br

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #12
    Unless you want to install the previous Front Row version on 10.5, because you don't like new new interface. :(

    At least, I think that's the reason why the old Front Row does not start.

    --Erwin
     
  13. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #13
  14. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #14
    Are you trying to access movie trailers and other content like that?

    Because 10.5.2 on a MacPro Quad 2.66 doesnt seem to work Wirelessly for me eithe rbut on a Powermac G5 1.8 Single works fine wired, so im wondering if its some sort of wireless bug with MP + FR?

    a MacBookPro 2.2Ghz from mid-2007 works fine wirelessly.
     

Share This Page