Frozen Throne doesn't quit properly

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by calviin, Dec 10, 2008.

  1. calviin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #1
    Don't know why, but when I try quitting, everything freezes up. Always. Every single time. Unless there's a fix for this, I always have to restart my macbook. However, actual gameplay is very good. Smooth and fast. I'm extremely satisfied with my new macbook except for this one small problem.
     
  2. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #2
    For some unknown reason it does that. It tends to happen only after playing custom games, which may mean it is a Warcraft memory management issue (not your fault). Most of the time I have had it quit by itself after 10-15 minutes, however this is not very practical - the time may also vary based on the map played or the amount of maps played, I don't know.

    As there is no fix (yet), all you can do it press Command-M to swap to window mode before exiting Warcraft. From here you can right-click it in the dock and Force Quit it.

    You can also press Command-Option-Escape to Force Quit it when it has frozen in fullscreen (I prefer this way).

    Use either of these two methods - don't force restart your Mac. Doing that is bad for OS X and any other open programs. Only force restart your Mac if OS X has become unresponsive. As yet I haven't seen mine crash (purchased Feb 08) and Command-Option-Escape is very useful for any programs that act up (it's the Windows equivalent of Ctrl-Alt-Delete).
     
  3. calviin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #3
    Ah~ Ok. I see. Is there also a patch for Warcraft 3? Not Frozen Throne. I can't seem to update it using Blizzard's patch for some reason.
     
  4. Padraic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere between here and there...
    #4
    I believe that if you have Frozen Throne installed, that is what you must patch...

    From the Blizzard website here...

    I don't have the same problem you two are having on my late 2007 Alu iMac. My suggestion is to create an account on Blizzard.com's website, register your CD key and redownload the game. The downloadable version on their site is fully patched.

    Just a thought...
     
  5. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #5
    Never quits properly. I just press the key combo: command option esc and move on.
     
  6. Mr. lax macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    same for me. its not worth the hassle to quit normally
     

Share This Page