Frustrated with Illustrator: Link view options

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by hdsalinas, Oct 9, 2008.

  1. hdsalinas macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #1
    Hi,

    I am very frustrated with adobe and the way that every one of its programs uses different procedures for acomplishing the same task.

    For instance, right now I have an image placed inside and object (mask) in illustrator. In indesign, all I have to do is drag an image from bridge and place it over the linked filed and it gets replaced.

    In illustrator, I have to select the image that I want to place and manually replace it by browsing though a list of files. The image I want is inside a folder containing 400+ images, and since I cant see a thumbnail view of all the images I have to go one by one to see a small preview. This is frustrating and time consuming.

    Anyone knows a better way to browse images inside illustrator?
     
  2. jerryrock macrumors 6502

    jerryrock

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NY
    #2
    Using the Place command in Illustrator will open a dialog box for navigation. On the far right (top) of this box there is a drop down menu allowing you to choose Details, Icons, Thumbnails or Tile view.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. hdsalinas thread starter macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #3
    Yes I remember seeing that option, but my illustrator "place interface" is switched to "use OS Dialog" (see bottom left corner in your window)

    I cant find the option to switch back to Illustrator dialog, is not there.
    Anyone knows? thanks.
     
  4. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #4
    This one? Use it.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. hdsalinas thread starter macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #5
    I looked for that option but it was not there.

    Here is the solution:

    That option only shows up when you enable Version Cue under Illustrator´s preferences. I had it unchecked. Now it does give that option


    Thanks!
     

Share This Page