Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

swingerofbirch

macrumors 68040
Original poster
I'm not a newb swearing off Apple. Quite the opposite. I've just been annoyed with issues my MacBook has had.

The problem is that it needs to go in for repair, but I use it for work. Ironically, I am an independent contractor who is contracted by a teleservices company which is contracted by Apple to provide telesales staffing. So basically, I sell Apple products from home, which is great for me, because I am disabled and can't work outside of the home.

Working from home has meant that my Social Security disability income has been cut, and so I NEED the money coming into me to help my parents with expenses. When I called Apple and told them I was curious how long it would be if I sent it in, the representative told me that if I had a business, I should have a back up computer always ready. I was about to chew them out telling them that if they forced their contractors to pay their contractors decent wages, I might be able to afford that!

That's not the only reason I don't send it in--without my computer I am pretty much disconnected from any social or entertainment life as well.

I just get frustrated because I've had to send iBooks in before which go to Flextronics, come back unfixed, and it's like you have to start world war 3 with customer service to get something done.

I love Apple--but why does MY MacBook have to be acting the fool?

The other thing is that it's completely usable, but I know I should send it in because it's stupid not to get problems fixed.