Frustrated with New Apple TV; What should I do?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by EasyRider, Oct 19, 2010.

  1. EasyRider macrumors regular

    EasyRider

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #1
    Got the new apple tv about 2 weeks ago.

    When I rent a hd show, it stops streaming every 5-10 minutes, makes it seem like its trying to buffer... but it never ends... when I click menu, and then play that episode starting from where I left off, it works just fine right away without a wait. Don't see what the problem is. Seems like apple tv problem and not a connection problem.

    Same problem with Netflix streaming. Never had this problem using PS3, XBOX360 or Tivo to stream Netflix HD.

    My router is an AirPort Extreme.

    Another issue is the appletv does not wake up my computer to stream my itunes stuff... I have to go up to the 2nd floor from the basement just to wake it so I can stream.

    At this point I am most likely going to return the appletv, not sure how long we have to wait for an update to fix these issues.
     
  2. iMJustAGuy macrumors 68020

    iMJustAGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Beach, FL
    #2
    Maybe it has something to do with the fact that your base station is 2 floors away from your ATV (assuming that's where you keep it)?
     
  3. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #3
    the router you have doesn't really matter (it matter some what), but your internet connection speed and the distance between the router and the Apple TV is more important, and locations of both.

    1. Who is your internet provider and what speeds do you get from the internet (www.speedtest.net)
    2. Where is the router and Apple TV located?
    3. Is your router only set-up for wireless G support (2.4GHz) or do you have it set-up for dual 2.4GHz and 5GHz wireless G and N support?

    G can transfer data up-to 54Mbps at its strongest connection
    N can transfer data up-to 300Mbps at its strongest connection

    As far as I know, my old Apple TV was never able to wake up my iMac from sleep to stream either, so I set-up my iMac to never sleep (but I turned off the screen saver and I keep the display off as much as possible)
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. JRoDDz macrumors 68000

    JRoDDz

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Read: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3774

    "This service requires an Apple AirPort Base Station or Time Capsule with firmware 7.4.2 or later installed. To use Wake on Demand wirelessly with a WPA or WPA2 network, the AirPort base station or Time Capsule must be hosting the network."
     
  5. EasyRider thread starter macrumors regular

    EasyRider

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #5
    Nope, its 2 feet away and connected directly to it.
     
  6. EasyRider thread starter macrumors regular

    EasyRider

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #6
    I have version 7.5 running on my AirPort Extreme Base Station (the newest dual band one)... I see that I can upgrade it to 7.5.1 so will do that now.
     
  7. EasyRider thread starter macrumors regular

    EasyRider

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #7
    I have cox, my airport router is in the basement and directly connected to appletv. I get 7Mb/s download wireless to my 27" iMac (wireless N, on 2nd floor). It's setup for dual wireless G/N.

    The funny thing is I have an older PS3, that is wireless G and it streams netflix just fine, wirelessly (its also on the 2nd floor). I have a ps3 in the basement and it steams netflix just fine, same with xbox360.

    I don't NEED the appletv, but its something I would like.

    Also regarding keeping your mac powered up all the time... one thing I like about the appletv is how little power it uses... so keeping your mac running all the time just to be able to connect is kind of silly. It should wake properly.
     
  8. Rootus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    One thing I've noticed -- my Apple TV is much more aggressive about maintaining picture quality even in the face of connectivity issues. I have Netflix as part of my Blu-Ray player, and it will adjust the quality of the stream to match available bandwidth. My Apple TV, on the other hand, always shows a very good quality stream, but if the connection can't keep up it starts pausing periodically while it buffers some more, it never seems to give up and downgrade the stream.

    I was just having that problem today when one of my DSL pairs went offline for a while and my bandwidth was cut down to 6 or 7 Mbps. You typically need a steady 6.5 Mbps for a good quality Netflix HD stream.

    Maybe it's something Apple can adjust in the next revision. I'd rather it was too aggressive instead of too conservative, but it's a little over the top the way it's tuned right now.
     
  9. trip1ex macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #9
    Must be a problem with your setup of some kind. Or perhaps you got a bad unit.

    because the new ATV works just fine for the vast majority.

    btw, have you power cycled it yet? You know unplug and plug back in?

    I've had a few hiccups since launch and have had to unplug it and plug it back in. There's definitely a few bugs that creep up occasionally at least in my experience.

    Not good to hear it doesn't wake your Mac up. I have a new EXtreme Base STation, but haven't hooked it up yet as never felt the need to since FIOS router was installed and worked fine. WAs going to use it just for new ATV so it could wake up the Mac.
     
  10. EasyRider thread starter macrumors regular

    EasyRider

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #10
    Yes I cycled it a couple it times... first time because the resolution all of a sudden changed (this happened only once so far). Another time thinking it might help "wake" my imac. I looked through apple forums and it seems like others are having the same issues.

    This sucks cause I really wanted to keep it. And actually planned on buying a second one for the bedroom tv. I guess I am just a bit frustrated... all other mac products have been amazingly reliable for me.
     

Share This Page