FSB Ratio

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AFitchguy07, Dec 14, 2010.

  1. AFitchguy07 macrumors newbie

    AFitchguy07

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #1
    Can someone explain to me how to adjust fsb/ram timings etc on a macbook pro. Right now it shows me at a 4:16 ratio with ram at 533 and fsb at 133.

    i don't really go by windows 7 rating but my cpu clocks are 6.8 but my ram o/s are set at 5.9 with ddr3.

    I have a desktop running ddr2 rated at 6.9.. so what gives?

    Any information is appreciated.
     
  2. dime21, Dec 14, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010

    dime21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #2
    I have no idea what you're talking about 5.9 and 6.8. Those are not CPU or bus speeds. There are no settings for memory to adjust. Just use it. Also, the Nehalem chips no longer use FSB, they use QPI lanes to the I/O hub.
     
  3. AFitchguy07 thread starter macrumors newbie

    AFitchguy07

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #3
    --
    Stephen
     
  4. dime21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #4
    What is a "windows 7 rating"? I used Vista once, I rate it as "Garbage".
     
  5. the-ep macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Location:
    Wait, where am I again?
    #5
    First, which MBP are you using? Since you said it's DDR3 memory and mentioned an FSB I'll assume it's a 2008-9 unibody (2010 MBPs don't have FSBs, as dime21 mentioned).

    Also, which utility did you use to calculate bus ratio? 533MHz sounds WAY too low (IIRC it should be 1066MHz), so I'll guess the program you used was a dud or something like that.

    As for the Win7 scores, I wouldn't worry too much about those (MS puts them there to make you upgrade PCs every year :D). I guess the desktop must either have more memory and/or you were looking at the wrong measurement.
     
  6. aimbdd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    East Cost
    #6
    bahaha fail. 533*2 =1066 memory is right. i am not sure about fsb though.
     
  7. AFitchguy07 thread starter macrumors newbie

    AFitchguy07

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #7
    i have the 2010 with i5 520m.

    i used cpuz all around for my results.

    Im not up on the core i models and wasn't aware they used IPQs over fsb.

    Cpuz still shows a fsb of 133 per thread and 266 per core, which i was thinking was 133*4 giving me 533 which is what the ram is running at doubled to get overall 1066.

    I was just looking for some in-depth explanations if possible.

    PS i too don't follow the microsoft ratings, but it struck me as odd as to why there were such a big diff in those two with ddr2 in my desktop running @ 333 (down from 400 to get 1:1 with tighter timings of 4.4.4.12) rating nearly a 7 and the ddr3 on my mbp running at 533 (cpuz shows timings as 7.7.7.20) rating 5.9 which is nearly 1/7th drop from my dd2.. both are 4gb.
     

Share This Page