Function keys within Fusion

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by 617arg, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. 617arg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #1
    Hello, does anyone know how to use the function keys while in Fusion? I'm using Autocad and need functionality of them while using it within Fusion, but they activate OS X functions.

    This, and enabling "pan" with the middle mouse button, rather than dashboard, seem to be the last two hurdles before I can fully use the Mac for my work.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. OrganMusic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    +1 on this question. I have the two boxes under keyboard/mouse to enable macos shortcuts UNCHECKED, which did get the ctrl-click to function correctly and stops f-keys from doing their osx things, but I still have to press Fn- to get f-keys to do anything.

    Is there something I'm missing?
     
  3. greenalien macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I'd like to know how to do this too. Any progress on this? I'm using a Macbook Pro.

    By default "Enable Mac OS Keyboard Shortcuts" is enabled. I can't use the function keys. For example if I press F12 I increase the volume. If I press Fn+F12 is activates Dashboard.

    If I untick this option, pressing F12 increases the volume (as before), and pressing Fn+F12 activates F12. So this is one step closer, but I don't want to have to press the Fn key every time because I use the function keys a lot in some Windows apps. Also, with this option unticked I can no longer press Cmd+Tab to cycle through the Mac apps, which is useful!

    The keyboard mapping options could really do with being fleshed out in Fusion. I want one simple option to enable regular Function key use while Fusion has focus.

    If I try to add a custom Key Mapping, I can't specify the function key as the "From", and I can't specify F1 through F7 for the "To". Only F8 onwards are given as options for some reason.
     
  4. OrganMusic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    Thanks for bringing this up again, I forgot about this thread and am still looking for an answer as well. This shouldn't be rocket science.
     
  5. elgrecomac macrumors 65816

    elgrecomac

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #5
    Search or Post your question at this site to get an answer....

    the VMWARE fusion forum will get back to your query promptly

    http://communities.vmware.com/community/vmtn/desktop/fusion


    Send Eric Tung (user id - etung) a message or post the question on the forum for all to see the answer.

    And do use the current rev of Fusion 2.0.1

    Good luck!

    :cool:
     
  6. jkeithmacpro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Location:
    austin,tx
    #6

Share This Page