Funny grammar error from apple. Take Siri seriously!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by xFerrr, Jan 21, 2016.

1. xFerrr macrumors member

xFerrr

2. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

mobilehaathi

3. BradWould macrumors 6502

BradWould

Unless I'm missing something, I believe you're mistaken. I see no grammar errors.

4. MICHAELSD macrumors 68040

MICHAELSD

I believe OP is inferring that "die" is a typo, when "die" is in in fact the singular form of "dice."

5. Scepticalscribe Contributor

Scepticalscribe

Ah, don't they teach basic grammatical stuff - such as the difference between the singular and the plural form of a word any longer? A small hint: It is not always achieved with the addition of the single letter 's' to the plural form.

6. Scepticalscribe Contributor

Scepticalscribe

A thread such as this appeals to something deep and atavistic in me. It thrills me at a visceral level. In fact, at one stage in my life, I used to work as an editor in the parliamentary debates office, - and - even before that - I think I could have been described as something of a grammar fascist.

7. Gregg2 macrumors 603

...such as, addendum, referendum, honorarium, deer (and so on)

of course, you meant to the singular form, or to make the plural (editing oversight?)

8. Scepticalscribe Contributor

Scepticalscribe

Yes, I did indeed. Singular form……..

Writing on the hoof is never a good idea - and computer screens seem to allow for a multiplication of errors, - at least, when I write, - most of which would be instantly picked up on a printed page.