Funny Windows Tech Tip

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by marc11, May 30, 2011.

  1. marc11 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #1
    I don't know why but I found this pretty funny. It was a radio station "Tech Tip" they give simple 30 second tips for the not so tech savvy. Anyway this one was on how to set up a new Windows laptop and it went like this:

    "First, install your anti virus software and run update to get the latest virus files, then run a full system scan. Next, download any free software you had on your old laptop and install it, making sure to update your drivers and running your virus software. Next, reinstall any CD based software and update it. Finally, use (forgot the exact name) the Windows migration utility to migrate the rest of your settings. After this you will have a smooth running machine"

    LOL. I wish they said, "if you just purchased a Mac, just turn it on, done"
     
  2. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #2
    Err. Take the virus scanner out of the equation and you have to do all that for a Mac too..lol. (If you have anything besides an auto-install printer).
     
  3. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Yeah and there are plenty of free pc virus scanner software out there..
     
  4. marc11 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #5
    Not really, you do not need to download or reinstall most if not all your software, migration does that for you.

    I know, you have to migrate a Mac too, I just found it funny how fast the guy was talking to cram the laundry list of steps into 30 seconds.
     
  5. marc11 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #6

    It wasn't about cost. I guess you had to hear it to catch what I found amusing....or actually live through a Windows migration or upgrade which is the computer equivalent of a colon oscopy prep. (anyone over 40 gets this)
     
  6. pandamonia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    #7
    Yes and MACDefender was just a antivirus for mac wasnt it?

    How long do you think until you actually need antivirus for max on 24.7 because i can see it coming very soon.

    So stop being such an idiot because the days of an easy life are on the way out.

    OSX is no better than Windows 7 for vulnerabilities infact the reason not many exist right now is because no self respecting company would ever use OSX as their company OS.

    Virus makers arent interested in college kids porn collections or photoshoppers works of art.

    They are after things of a much more valuable nature, and the enterprise sector has all of it.

    Enterprise does not use OSX

    Period
     
  7. marc11 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NY USA
    #8
    Like I said, it made me chuckle since you never hear tech tips on how to migrate one Mac to another, it is rather simple and each time it works perfectly, unlike my and many others Windows migrations.

    This thread had nothing to do with viruses, the tech tip guy said it, I only repeated it.

    Smile once in a while and laugh a life. Like my enterprise, 50,000 people, and we STILL use XP SP3 and IE6 because they refuse to migrate further...oh and we aren't the only ones of this size using XP. Hmmmmm I wonder why? Yeah, must be cost, yeah that's it, migration cost.
     
  8. Macsavvytech macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #9
    No self respecting company would use Windows Server either ....
    There is nothing wrong with an OSX server, I personally don't run OSX as a server OS but there is nothing wrong with it!
    PS: Linux is the most used server OS
     
  9. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #10
    I hate to say it, but yes there is. It's great when it works, but when it acts up, some of its settings are so deeply buried that there's virtually no way to fix things without a wipe and reload. For example: I turned on NAT in 10.6 Server, but when I turned it off, the rule was not deleted. Now, every time the server is rebooted, the rule is recreated, and its network connection fails until it's deleted. I've dug through the rules, and I've dug through the documentation, and I've not been able to find where this setting is stored such that it comes back after every reboot. Were this a customer's machine, I would have wiped it a long time ago, but it's my media center at home, so I don't particularly care. Kerberos issues are just as bad.

    Frankly, I'm not surprised they're giving it away for free with Lion client.
     

Share This Page