Fusion drive and Boot Camp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Sankel, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. Sankel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #1
    Hi,

    Is here anybody who had succes installing boot camp (with Win8) on a 3TB Fusion Drive within Windows access to the Macintosh HD?

    I think it's really hard, because my Windows cant see if it is an SDD or the HDD IMO :confused:

    My HDD is partionised like this

    | Mac OSX | Windows | Data | Fusion SSD |

    This above is my 3TB HDD + SSD.

    So, is there an option to access the Macintosh HD in Windows?;)
     
  2. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #2
    There are several threads here and in the iMac and Mac Mini sections on how to do it. It appears that you are on the right track with your partitions. Your Windows partition is outside of the Fusion environment, and must be below the 2.2TB Windows limitation.
     
  3. Sankel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #3
    Yes you're right.

    I'ved searched here for the article, also in the mac mini section, but can't find it..

    could you help me?
     
  4. Sankel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #5
    Thanks, but I think you get me wrong. I installed windows properly, everything is working great.

    Accept that there isn't a solution to access my Mac partition in windows.

    I installed an hfs+ driver of apple, I found it in another article. And now he displays my Mac hdd, but when opening it, it says it needs to be formatted to access..
     
  5. Quad5Ny macrumors 6502a

    Quad5Ny

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Location:
    New York, USA
    #6

    Attached Files:

  6. Sankel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #7
    Yes that's the one I installed. I directly go to windows to test it! Thanks!:D
     
  7. aure28 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    #8
    Any success?:confused: Same problem here with the 1TB Fusion. As said earlier, Windows doesn't recognize the Fusion drive and doesn't mount the Mac volume. It only works with non-Fusion volumes so far (it is convenient for transferring files from mac to windows through bootcamp).

    Somebody has already posted the issue on Apple Support forum: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4612345?start=0&tstart=0
     
  8. Sankel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    #9
    No succes! :confused:
     

Share This Page