Fusion drive

Discussion in 'iMac' started by frozi, Sep 27, 2013.

  1. frozi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #1
    I'm sure this MSG has been asked and I did a quick little search. But was hoping to get a little different feedback.

    I will be purchasing the new IMAc for video editing and after effects.

    I'm going to juice up the processor and video card. But the hard drive.... I am going to be buying this computer for professional use. And I feel fusion drive might be too "gimmicky" as of right now from a professional side.

    Especially when it comes to trouble shooting and things like that. Would I be safer just to go standard hard drive. Or am I being to paranoid?

    Thoughts?
     
  2. Apple fanboy macrumors Core

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #2
    Had mine nearly a year now, with zero issues. I don't think there are any downsides with the fusion drive.
     
  3. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #3
    Have had mine for close to a year as well and no issues. Also nice to have the extra storage.
     
  4. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #4
    go fusion, be happy, don't worry.......

    but for pro use, also get some BIG external TB drives, and fill them puppies up :)
     
  5. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I have a Mac Pro with 128gb ssd as the boot - with the os/ apps stored on it (mostly read only) and the home directory (docs,movies,picture are stored) is linked to a internal 1tb drive. It's been work a ok for 2+ years - fusion drive is just a very similar thing / set up and beneficial due o apps and os stuff loading very quikly
     
  6. frozi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    #6
    So if I picked fusion drive. I am spending an additional 200 dollars to load the computer and apps faster?

    Some people are saying it will help with render times. But if I'm keeping all my media on a external. Then wouldn't the external need to be sdd in order to speed up render times?
     

Share This Page