Fusion Drivin? Is it worth it?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Happier, Dec 17, 2012.

1. Happier, Dec 17, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012

Happier macrumors newbie

Hey guys,

Leading up to Christmas I am trying to decide which Macbook pro (non retina) to buy.

I just heard about fusion drives and am wondering whether or not I would end up with a better computer if I bought a:
    a) cheaper 13" for 1000-1400 and then added a fusion drive,
    or b) bought a more expensive 15" for about 2000.

How would they compare for speed and price? I will be needing this for graphic design at university, so photoshop, Indesign, processing photos and movies etc. Thanks

PS I have no knowledge of how to install a fusion drive so will also need to pay a shop to install one (if i can)...

2. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

NewishMacGuy

Don't pay a shop...

http://tomasz.korwel.net/2012/11/04/apple-fusion-drive-on-late-2010-macbook-pro/

For graphics work I'd imagine that you'd benefit greatly from the discrete GPU in the cMBP15.

If 256GB will be sufficient, going with a small SSD as your main drive is preferable to a Fusion drive (and no more expensive). If you do need 500GB+ of storage space, then a DIY Fusion drive will cost you $150+ (about half of what a 500GB SSD costs) and your onboard Superdrive. If you need the onboard Superdrive or want to stay under $200 for 750GB, the you'll have to go with a hybrid (Momentus XT).

3. Hexley macrumors 6502a

If you dont go Retina do a DIY job for Fusion.

4. Happier thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks man,
    I'm happy to spend anywhere up to 2000 on the whole kit so I could get a more expensive SDD? and must remove the optical drive to have room if i went fusion, right?

5. Hexley macrumors 6502a