Fusiondrive or SSD

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Seppentoni, Dec 5, 2013.

1. Seppentoni macrumors member

Hi.

I want to buy a Mac mini for work.
    I'm a Graphic designer who does the usual design stuf:
    Adobe Suite, Webdevelopment… (No video editing).

I don't care for the money because this should be a long term investment.
    I want to max out all specs but I'm not sure about the hdd.

Should it be the Fusion drive or the SSD with an ext. HD?

I currently work on an MB Air (Underpowered) and I have to constantly move data around by hand because the SSD is too small.

Is the fusion drive really that fast as PR suggests or is it better to have a SSD + USB3/fw800 ext. HD?

Thank you

2. phrehdd macrumors 68040

phrehdd

If I were in your shoes, get the i7 2.6 with the least amount of RAM, and the 1 tb 5400 rpm regular drive. Next, buy 3rd party RAM - a pair of 8 gig RAM 'sticks' that you can put in yourself. The last part would be to replace the cheap 5400 rpm regular drive with a good SSD (or two). If you cannot put in the drive yourself, consider a reputable computer place that is Mac certified. End result - i7 quad 2.6 with 16 gigs of 3rd party RAM and consider the 500 gig up to 1 tb Samsung Pro or Evo drives. These both seem to be consistent work horses for the most part.

If cost is no problem might want to consider the new Mac Pro that is coming out. You may want to get the lower quad model and then BTO for the internal SSD and graphics card option. While some may whine, the reality is that the new Mac Pro has more in common with the Mac Mini in that it depends more on external devices attached rather than internal like the present Mac Pro (drives, cards etc.).

Whether you get a Mini or a Pro or something else, remember, that some of those Adobe apps do benefit from separate scratch space. Check on some Adobe sights for more info on drive scenarios to optimize your system.