Future new user of mac...questions

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by welders4mac, Aug 11, 2007.

1. welders4mac macrumors member

welders4mac

Please excuse any faux pas' I might make as I am a total Newbie to the realm of Apple products.

I like so many, refuse to upgrade to vista. (hardware and all).
    I have been running linux for the past two years and have had my eye on the mac product line for quite some time.

anyhow to get to the questions I have:

(i) What would be the major difference in buying a imac vs mac mini, other that supplying your own keyboard,monitor,mouse. I think the most cpu intensive thing we may do is taking footage we have on mini-dvd and turning into a decent presentation. ie: re-authoring...Im not looking to have shrek hand my Child her birthday cake or anything ;o)

(ii) Wireless Mighty Mouse: How often does one need to replace the batteries.
    I know Ill get the respose "depends on how much you use it" but Im looking for an average. ie: 1 day if you use it extensively or 1 week if you don't touch it at all.

thank you so much for any guidance you can give.
    I really hope apple gains a lot from microsloths garbage!

2. teflon macrumors 6502a

teflon

(i) The major difference would be the graphics card. However, it shouldn't matter with the uses you described above. Assuming that all you'll use is iLife, internet, office apps and such, you'll be fine with the mini (most things are fine except for games, and GPU intensive apps like Motion or Aperture). The CPU speed of the high end mini is the same as the baselind iMac. However, the iMac does have a faster hd and ram, and is using SR. There would be more expandability on the iMac (hd, ram).

(ii) I don't own a mighty mouse, so no idea about that :p. I've heard that its battery life is quite decent though.

3. RealDawgTrill macrumors newbie

RealDawgTrill

Ringtones as Bluetooth

How take a song from mp3 direct cut & send 2 my phone as a bluetooth