Future Starcraft and Intel GMA X3100

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by thomahawk, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. thomahawk macrumors 6502a

    thomahawk

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Location:
    Osaka, Japan
    #1
    i wonder if this had been posted up previously.. i tried searching but oh well

    now that the new macbooks with the 9400M GPUs are out i still wonder if the previous macbooks will still have a say in starcraft 2 gaming? i know for sure the new MB will be able to take SC2 full force but im scared that mines (X3100) wont be able to take the power even on lowest settings.

    my gaming computer is dead so my grandparents bought me this macbook for me a while back. but starcraft is my DRUG. i dont mind not playing CoD4, Fallout 3, C&C3, but i CANT live without starcraft!!! i want to play the 2nd one and i really hope theres still a single beam of light shining upon the intel GPU MB

    lol as you can see im a starcraft freak but hey its the 1st computer game i ever played and i still love it! (still playing! PM if you wanna play me!!) but i really want to play starcraft 2

    thanks guys for reading this lol :p
     
  2. Companion cube macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #2
    You dont have a chance in hell mate, the new macbooks wont be able to run SC2 to its "fullest" but they will be able to run it.

    But you cant run SC2 with an integrated graphics card and 1 gb of ram, no way. World of warcraft wont even run playably on that.

    Howver, the game wont be released for a while yet, use the time to get a job, make some money and buy a cheap desktop maybe?
     
  3. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #3
    I ran World of Warcraft playably on a 1Ghz G4 Titanium Powerbook circa '03
     
  4. Companion cube macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #4
    The dedicated card in that machine is still faster then intel's integrated offering
     
  5. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #5
    No, the integrated chips don't have any video memory; they take it from system RAM, and can take more if they need it. The problem is they are dead slow--the graphics card in a PowerBook is faster, and it uses dedicated video RAM, not system RAM.

    --Eric
     
  6. 7254278 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Are you sayng my ibooks old ATI Mobility 9200 32mb is better then my new MBA X3100? Cuz that seems kind of ludicrous to me.
     
  7. Companion cube macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #7
    The dedicated video card in the old powerbook g4's is surely faster than any of the intel integrated cards in the previous generation of macbooks and macbook airs, however comparing the ibook might be stretching it...

    Any further questions can be answered by consulting this list of GPU's...

    http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphics-Cards-Benchmark-List.844.0.html

    Note the mighty x3100 in 128th place and your radeon mobilty 9200 not far behind at 137
     
  8. ksb43 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #8
    Did you hear they're making Starcraft 2 into a trilogy. A separate game for each races campaign. Hopefully they don't price all of them as full games. I think they would lose a lot of sales if they did that anyway.

    BTW, Starcraft is the best game ever followed closely by Unreal Tournament. I wasted entire summers on both when I was a kid.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    Build a PC to play Starcraft 2. That's what I did for Company of Heroes.
     
  10. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #10
    rbarris, who is a Blizzard employee working on the Mac team on this board, said that they werent targeting Intel graphics, mainly working on making sure it plays on Macs with nVidia/ATi chipsets.
     

Share This Page