Fuzzy display on G5.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by macca1980, Nov 22, 2013.

  1. macca1980 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    #1
    Ok I have fuzzy display on my g5, it's connected to a third party monitor(works perfect sharp with laptop)
    It's connected using this attached image.

    this was a cheaper one from eBay, I have used every resolution and Hz option always still fuzzy, am I better to get an official apple display or is there anything I can do? Would a better quality adapter help?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    I'd try a new adapter before I tried a new monitor. Does the G5 have the DVI or the VGA?
     
  3. KeegM480 macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #3
    Agree with the above person, thought I had an issue with a MacBook Pro, had two monitors, neither monitor would work with my adapter so I had to get a new one.
     
  4. macca1980 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    #4
    There are 2 video ports on back, think one is the main apple connection & other is this one. Not near it just now so don't know the names sorry. I wouldn't want to spend £20 or so on an official adapter for it just to do the same thing. Is it because it's being converted from it's connection to VGA?

    ----------

    Did you get a new adapter?
     
  5. KeegM480 macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #5
    Yep. Worked fine, my adapter eventually went totally out, for a while i would have staid flashes, then it went mostly static so i got a new one, worked just fine :)
     
  6. macca1980 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    #6
    What adapter would you advise, there are many on eBay and amazon , don't know if they are better quality or just overpriced
     
  7. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #7
    My Powermac G5 actually came with a DVI to VGA adapter (obviously made by Apple) it's yours for a fair price PM me (I never used it.)
     
  8. KeegM480 macrumors 6502a

    KeegM480

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #8
    I would suggest Apple, But Rocketfish has always been good for me, HDE broke but the company replaced it right away
     
  9. macca1980 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    #9
    I can't find a dvi to vga rocketfish, only mini dvi.
     
  10. macca1980 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    #10
    Bought apple one from eBay 3.99 hopefully that works
     
  11. macca1980 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    #11
    It's still the same with official apple, Mac must be incompatible with my display as it works fine when extending my laptop
     
  12. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #12
    I have some questions...

    I have some questions;
    1. What is the maximum resolution for your monitor?
    2. What particular Power Mac G5 do you happen to have?
    3. What is the graphics card of your Power Mac?
     
  13. macca1980 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    #13
    Apologies , I got it working right, there was only one setting that looks right. The apple connector did it. Prob solved.
     

Share This Page