Fuzzy Resolution

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ktalebian, Apr 3, 2008.

  1. ktalebian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #1
    Hi there,
    Resolution of my Mac has reduced a bit. Texts are a bit fuzzy, images are not sharp, color is a bit messed up! What's wrong? It all happened today and I have no idea why!

    Thanks
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    In System Preferences, go to the Displays section and ensure your resolution is set to its maximum. :)
     
  3. ktalebian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #3
    It is ... That was the first thing that I checked.
    But no, things are still fuzzy
     
  4. GregPacker macrumors member

    GregPacker

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Wherever there is a queue
    #4
    Can you try the same monitor with a different computer to check whether the monitor or computer is at fault, and try using a different monitor cable to rule out a damaged cable?
    Might you have changed the settings on the monitor itself by pressing buttons on its frame, or done something that caused it to reset to the default settings? Or perhaps changed the font smoothing in the OS preferences (I think it might be in the Appearance section if that still exists)? You could try booting straight from the installer cd to see how the default OS display settings look.
    Have you accidentally engaged magnification somewhere, either in the OS (you'd probably notice the screen scrolling with the mouse if you'd done that) or in the application you are using?
    You could try reconnecting the monitor cable or even reseating the graphics card. Also check that you don't have anything near the computer or monitor that could cause interference, such as the magnets in big loudspeakers or someone vacuuming nearby, or perhaps lots of cables running closely parallel to the monitor cable.
     
  5. ktalebian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #5
    This is a laptop, a MacBook Pro, and the screen of the laptop is fuzzy! I'm not connecting this to a monitor.
    And now, there are no wires going around anywhere.
    What was that thing about reseatting the graphic card?
    How do I do that?!

    Thanks
     
  6. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #6
    If it's a 15.4" MacBook Pro, you need to run it at 1440x900

    ..a 17" regular resolution: 1680x1050

    ...a 17" high-resolution: 1920x1200

    (these are the max-resolutions of the displays, ie NativeRes)
    Your display shouldn't be fuzzy when running at this resolution.
     
  7. GregPacker macrumors member

    GregPacker

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Wherever there is a queue
    #7
    Ah, you didn't mention that. This is the "Mac Pro, Power Mac" part of the forum you know! A mac pro has pci express slots so it is easy to take the graphics card out and put it back in again. That's all reseating means, it can help if a contact in the slot was not working properly due to a bit of dirt or something like that. I've never owned a laptop so I don't know how accessible it is.
     
  8. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #8
    Just a quick question...

    Are your resolution problems in Mac OS X or Windows??

    In Windows in Boot Camp, if you don't have the proper graphics drivers kit installed...which you must do, then the MacBook Pro won't properly drive that video card in Windows at the native resolution.

    Still, you shouldn't have any problems with OS X 10.5 giving you native res by default.
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    You say this suddenly happened over night... What have you been doing with your machine over the last 24 hours? What have you installed or plugged in?



    I've moved it to the proper forum now. Hopefully that'll save some confusion. :)
     
  10. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #10
    Could you post a picture? High res too, macro mode.
     
  11. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #11
    Go to Universal access and make sure you haven't zoomed in a tiny bit. This will cause some fuzziness and bad bitmap refreshing when mousing around.

    It happened to me on Tiger and was the reason why I changed to Leopard. Imagine how stupid I felt when I discovered it was the zoom effect ^_
     
  12. ktalebian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #12
    No it's not that either ... Everything setting wise seems ok. Maybe there is something wrong with the Hardware?
     
  13. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #13
    Mate, give us a bit of recent history and we may be able to pinpoint the problem. :)
     
  14. ktalebian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    #14
    Alright :)
    So, I connected my Laptop to the TV on Windows. After that, when I went back to the laptop screen, the resolution was low. So I set it to high, but the resolution became fuzzy after that.
    I tried Windows Restore, but Windows keeps on failing to restore itself ...
     
  15. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia

Share This Page