FW 400 to 800 data transfer

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by RollTide, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. RollTide macrumors 6502

    RollTide

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    #1
    I have the latest iMac base model and I have a western digital external HD attached. The external hd is kinda old and only has fw 400. I bought a cable (Lacie) 800 to 400 fw and was curious if the speeds would be limited to the 400 speeds.

    Just a random question. Thanks!
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    Yes, as the FW400 port can only handle the 400Mb/s speed.
     
  3. RollTide thread starter macrumors 6502

    RollTide

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama

Share This Page