FW800 Daisy-chaining question / FW800 Hubs

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by occamsrazor, Dec 1, 2009.

  1. occamsrazor macrumors 6502

    occamsrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    #1
    I think I know the answer to this, but was hoping someone could confirm. I know you can daisy-chain various Firewire 800 devices, but do the middle devices need to be powered on for the end ones to work?

    For example:

    Mac Mini > FW800 > Hard Disk 1 > FW800 > Hard Disk 2

    If HD2 is switched ON, but HD1 is switched off, will HD2 still mount on the Mac Mini?

    If not, I guess the alternative is to buy a FW800 hub, but they're expensive and was hoping to avoid, unless someone can recommend a good one at reasonable price. I already have a FW400 hub, but that would ruin the speed benefits of FW800.

    Thanks.....
     
  2. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #2
    That has worked on FW 400 for me, I don't have a FW 800 drive though. I even did it
    drive 1 --> drive 2 --> dvd burner
    and the dvd burner worked fine when d1 and d2 were off.
     
  3. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I'd say that depends it on the devices you've got.

    I've got two Iomega Ultramaxx drives daisy-chained on one FW800 port on my Pro and the second drive does not power up unless the first one is switched on.

    So my recommendation:
    Buy your drives, test if they run independently, if not, buy a hub.
     
  4. maestrokev macrumors 6502a

    maestrokev

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Generally no, the devices in between must be powered on. I've had 4 different model OWC FW devices and none pass power. My Maxtor external hard drives pass power.
     
  5. jeffzoom91 macrumors regular

    jeffzoom91

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    I have two seagate FW800 drives, the first being a 3.5'' 1tb drive, and the second (plugged into the first) being a fw800 2.5' drive. These drives don't have physical switches, but if not accessed for a while, the larger drive's lights will go dark and it will sleep, and I can still access the smaller drive without waking the larger drive...
     

Share This Page