FYI 1.1.3 Breaks iToner

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by spartantex, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. spartantex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #1
    The new update kills you iToner. You can transfer but hear nothing.....
     
  2. St. Germain macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    #2
  3. spartantex thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #3
  4. Phurious macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #4
    What OS version are you using? I just purchased an iMac that came pre-installed with Leopard. Originally, I was using iToner to upload custom ringtones, but I found it much easier to customize and upload them to iTunes via Garage Band and then sync the phone.
     
  5. St. Germain macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    #5
    It worked for me for about a dozen songs. Here's what I did:
    1) Choose the mp3s I wanted to use in iTunes
    2) Converted each file to AAC (you have to have "AAC Encoder" set as your Importing preference in iTunes
    3) I trimmed each file using this method:
    4) Then I right clicked on the resulting file to "Show in Finder"
    5) Finally I changed the extension of each file to .m4r

    Works like a charm. I'll have to try the GarageBand method as well.
     
  6. St. Germain macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
  7. chaseerry macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #7
    I am using the method of changing m4a to m4r, then drag/drop into iToner.


    I figured out, all my iTunes bought songs were unable to be played as m4r (ringtones). But all the music i have DRM free plays as a ringtone no problem.
     
  8. lawcomic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #8
    Does anyone disagree with the proposition that the now available Garageband method makes iToner obsolete anyway?
     

Share This Page