G3 boot issue

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jamie-tylo, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. jamie-tylo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    I bought a G3 iMac about a year ago as a spare computer, and had tried to remove a disk partition set by the previous user. Now when it boots after the apple logo the log in screen flashes for a second and then disappears, then the icon changes to the spinning beach ball and stays there forever...

    I assume it is trying to boot from the partitionthat i removed and is confused in somway, can I reset this? or will i need to boot from another device?

    Maybe i'll need to boot from an ext HD?

    Any help appreciated!

    Thanks

    Jamie
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    If you can get as far as the login screen, it's definitely running the right partition.

    Given that it's a spare computer, is there anything on there that you'd miss if you formatted the drive? What OS is it running?
     
  3. jamie-tylo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #3
    NO, would be happy to format, how do i do that before boot? It was (laughably) trying to run osx, but i'd be happy to go back to os9, though i'll have to rummage around to try and find a copy of any os cds!
     
  4. jamie-tylo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #4
    Ok, I've just downloaded and made a bootable cd of puppy linux which i'm going to use on thi machine...

    How do I boot from this cd? holding down 'c' on boot isn't working... Also, how do i format the hard disk outside of an operating system?
     
  5. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #5
    Laughably? That depends how fast your computer is. My iBook G3 500 MHz/576 MB runs Tiger without too much trouble.

    Holding C on startup should be all you need. Try holding the option key instead. You should be presented with a boot menu with the CD listed as an option.
     
  6. jamie-tylo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #6
    Brilliant, thanks. I got in using the option key and told it to boot from the correct partition. How do i go about performing a format and installing linux now? Or os9, but I assume os9 still costs money? :)

    btw specs

    350mhz/320mbram
     
  7. ElectroGhandi macrumors regular

    ElectroGhandi

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #7
    You got Puppy Linux to boot on a PowerPC computer? I have only gotten it to work on x86 machines... :confused:
     
  8. jamie-tylo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #8
    It wouldn't boot.. I thought it may have been a problem with the iso image, but maybe it wasn't that at all!
     

Share This Page