Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Fungazi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 10, 2007
Hey there. I'm a novice when it comes to macs, but am thinking of purchasing a ridiculously cheap g3 imac to serve as an itunes device to store my (huge!) cd collection. I just have a number of practical questions before I make a move.

1) Since the mac's primary function will be to run the itunes program, I'm guessing it doesn't matter what processor speed I go for. Is there a minimum speed requirement to run the current version of itunes? Do I need to be running a particular version of mac os? Is there any particular advantage, in my case, to having a 400 or 450 mhz imac, versus a 350 mhz model?

2) I'm assuming that the g3 imacs and/or mac os x support a suspend or sleep mode, so that I don't have to shut down the computer every time I'm finished playing music. Am I correct in my assumption? If not, approx. how long does it take for a 350 mgz system to boot up from scratch and launch itunes? Let's assume there is a minimum of software installed - just os x and itunes.

3) On the g3 imacs, is CRT power-off supported? Or only "blank screen", with the CRT still powered on? Once I have itunes blasting away, there's no need to have the screen on and wasting electricity.

4) Is there a hard limit to the size of the IDE hard drive that the imac supports? I'd need to install a 250gb drive to store my entire cd collection at lossless quality. I'm assuming this is a 3.5" drive, not a notebook-sized HD, right?

5) OK, this is a long shot, but... is there any device (usb I'm guessing) that would allow me to watch TV on a 350 mhz or similar imac? I'm not talking HDTV or vid capture, just a standard catv tuner device. If so, what hardware requirements would I need in terms of processor and memory?