g3 ZIF CPU upgrade

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by macEfan, Aug 11, 2007.

  1. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #1
    I have one quick question... I have a dead G3 B&W and I'm parting it out. I want to move the 400mhz processor to my 300mhz beige g3. Will this work, or do I have to change some jumpers or something? I just want to be able to have the g3 have a little speed boost.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. RGunner macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #2
    should work

    check out the accelerate your mac G3 section, should be enough there to keep your interest up !

    I do have a G4-500 sonnet zif in the marketplace, why not go all out! :), although I think that requires a voltage regulator replacement in the beige.
     
  3. madmax_2069 macrumors 6502a

    madmax_2069

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    Springfield Ohio
    #3
    i think the only time you need to replace the VRM when upgrading to a G4 CPU in a Beige G3 is when the VRM's manufactured by Royal Technology

    if the VRM is made by Raytheon or another VRM replacement you wont run into any problems.

    from what i can see from other sites there is a undisclosed amount of Beige G3's that got released with the Royal Tech VRM.

    info on the VRM issues

    there is also a few other places you can find info on this.

    My Beige G3 AIO came with the Raytheon VRM in it.
     
  4. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    Those jumpers are what set the clock speed if I remember correctly.
     

Share This Page