G4 400 Mhz Edition

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Antowns, Feb 11, 2012.

  1. Antowns macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    Just got a G4 PowerMac for free from a guy that comes in to work. Looking to upgrade it as part of a project. Any ideas how decent these things can be? I think so far its got 3 128 meg ram sticks in and a 60GB hdd.

    I think it was owned by a company so there's been a few upgrades from stock I would assume.

    Can you upgrade the processor?
     
  2. cocacolakid macrumors 65816

    cocacolakid

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
  3. Nova77 Guest

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    #3
    Yes you can but that would be a waste of money IMO (or a waste of time-- very hard to find). There are G4 ZIF upgrades for G3 blue and white, they fit in the G4 PCI graphics. These G4 PCI graphics have a G3 blue and white logic board with a G4 case and G4 CPU.
     
  4. SimonUK5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    #4
    They are nice Machines. If its a 400Mhz i'm guess a AGP edtition.

    It will take 2gb of Ram, and any IDE Drive, but it has the 128gb limit, so if you want bigger drives you need a PCI IDE controller.
    There are CPU upgrades, but they are hard to find and hella pricey.
    There are Video Card Upgrades aswell, but again, not really worth it.

    They run Tiger great, and i'm using one now as a file server, and before that, i used it for InDesign 1.0 in OS9

    Simon
     
  5. cocacolakid macrumors 65816

    cocacolakid

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    I didn't know that, thanks.
     
  6. Antowns thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #6
    Sweet thanks for the info, I'm not at home at the moment so I'm unable to check it but I'm fairly sure its the AGP version as the back is the same as a one I found in a picture.. not positive yet though!

    Can it be used as a media server to use with iTunes and Apple TV? Or is there restrictions on the versions of iTunes ect.
     
  7. SimonUK5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    #7
    I'm pretty sure you can use it with Itunes/Apple Tv, i don't use either so haven't tried. But i'll check it out and get back to you :)
     
  8. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #8

    Dont rely on pictures, ALOT of macs from that era LOOK almost identical, but were far from the same inside....

    the ONLY way to know for sure is to open it up & look inside :D
     
  9. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #9
    To stream to ATV2 you need iTunes 10, which requires 10.5.
    I'm pretty sure that ATV1 syncing works on iTunes 9 (runs on 10.4), home sharing definitely does.
     
  10. skinniezinho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #10
    Give a read on the faq on my sig, it is pretty much everything there =)
    Mine was a 400MHz too =)
     
  11. eyoungren, Feb 11, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2012

    eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    If you can find version 4.0 of iTunes you can stream your library across the internet. 4.0 was the only version that did this. Apple removed it and made it local only with 4.0.1 and up.

    It's out there. I used to have it and streamed my music from home to work. The only thing extra you have to do is open router ports.
     
  12. SimonUK5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    #12
    This is true!

    Or Check the Serial Number(Should be on the back) and look it up online :)
     
  13. skinniezinho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #13
    Well I guess I have a different opinion:

    2Gb ram - ok
    IDE Drive 128Gb limit that can be overpassed in two ways (just read the faq)
    You can buy PCI SATA too or Sata to IDE adapter (Cheaper but slower )
    CPU Upgrades - ebay is your friend, I found that prices on ebay.de are about 20eur less than ebay.co.uk, I paid 65eur for 1.2GHz G4 - worth every penny
    Video Card Upgrades - learn to flash cards in a pc (it's not hard nor complicaded) buy a 20eur used XFX Geforce 6200 256Mb and have a new experience =)

    with 400MHz tiger is so-so, but def. the way to go.
     
  14. cocacolakid macrumors 65816

    cocacolakid

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #14
    I have a 400ghz single cpu Gigabit Ethernet PM and I've always been surprised how fast it seems on Tiger. It's a nice back up Mac if something goes down or I have to loan a computer out to someone while I fix someone else's. It's definitely useable as-is without spending $$ on upgrades. Don't expect streaming video or playing a lot of games without spending some money or making a few compromises/learning which software/tweaks to use to make things work better.
     

Share This Page