g4 cube as apple tv?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by iSaygoodbye, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. iSaygoodbye macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
    #1
    So i found a really cheap g4 cube.I was wandering if i could use it as a Apple TV.Id upgrade it and put leopard on it so i could use front row.Is there any way to make the cube output video to componet or composite?like the red,yellow,and white? or the red,blue,and green for video and red and white for audio?thanks guys
     
  2. TrapOx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #2
    For what you would spend upgrading it, the G4 won't even be half as powerful and you could by an actual :apple:TV instead.
     
  3. frimple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
  4. iSaygoodbye thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iSaygoodbye

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    a boat
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    It doesn't run Leopard. Processor doesn't meet the minimum requirements.
     
  6. zuzi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
  7. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
  8. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    Holy Thread-Dredging Batman !!!

    What I want to see is someone running Snow Leopard on a Cube.
     
  9. Chimpy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    #9
    Snow Leopard can run on a PowerPC chip?! Isn't it limited to Intel PCUs, or am I misunderstanding something?
     
  10. lannister80 macrumors 6502

    lannister80

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #10
    Nope, you're not missing anything. It will NOT work on PPC CPUs.
     
  11. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #11
    As a former PMG4 owner, I would say unless it was upgraded heavily, it won't make for a very good media centre as most video codecs will bring it to its knees.
     
  12. frimple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #12
    And so sad too, the G4 cube remains in my opinion one of the most amazing computers of all time. I love mine, though I just keep it around as a honey pot on the network now a days. :eek:
     
  13. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #13
    Yeah it's possible but I don't know why anyone would cause it slows the entire system down. Tiger on the other hand would be the best option for anything "PowerMac" as it's more optimized for PowerPC and not intel.
     

Share This Page