G4 iMac OSX Install Question

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by minifridge1138, Jan 22, 2012.

  1. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #1
    I'm trying to do a fresh install of OSX.
    I've booted off of the install media.
    I've gotten past the apple with the spinning wheel.
    Now I'm at a grey screen with the beach ball.
    I can move it around with the mouse, no problem.

    But how long should it take the OSX Installer to come up?
    It's been a few hours so far.

    Thanks!!!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Is the CD/DVD you try to boot from the original grey Restore CD/DVD, that came with the Mac or is it a grey Restore CD/DVD from another Mac (which will not work) or is it a Retail version of Mac OS X (which version)?
     
  3. minifridge1138 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #3
    It's an install image that I've modified.
    I found a guide here on MacRumors to isntall Leopard on 800mhz processors (the minimum is 867mhz by default).

    Since it's a modded installer, I won't be surprised if it fails.

    But I'd expect it to start the Installer and eventually abort because I'm using unsupported hardware (unless my patch works).
    I didn't expect it to get stuck on a beachball before starting the installer.

    I let it run all night, and was still stuck when I left for work.

    If it's the same when I get home, i'll abort and try something else.

    I'm only using the custom 10.5 installer because i don't have a 10.4 installer. I got the iMac used and it came without any software. I'd prefer the 10.4 installer, but all i have is the 10.5.
     
  4. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #4
    Try an unmodified DVD, if it boots past the beach ball, it's the DVD, otherwise it's the DVD drive.

    IIRC, the installer pops up a message box that states that you need a Mac with >800MHz, hence it should boot past the gray screen.
     
  5. minifridge1138 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #5
    The real DVD gets all the way to the "not supported" pop-up.
    Must be something with my image.

    Time to come up with a new plan.

    Thanks everyone!!!
     
  6. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    I think the best solution would be to install it using the Open Firmware change to lie to the installer about the clock speed of the CPU. That way you will not have to modify and media. Just boot into OF, make the change, and boot to the retail DVD and install.
     

Share This Page