G4 jaguar problems

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Michael S, Oct 10, 2008.

  1. Michael S macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #1
    Hi all, I have a 867MHz G4 PowerBook that does not work. I diagnosed the problem but don't have the original install discs, so i bought the retail version of jaguar but I can't boot from the disc.
    Does anybody have any suggestions, THANKS
     
  2. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    If I were you, I wouldn't waste time trying to get Jaguar (10.2) to work but try to get hold of Panther (10.3), or even better Tiger (10.4).
     
  3. rpaloalto macrumors 6502a

    rpaloalto

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Palo Alto CA.
    #3
    How are you trying to boot from the install disks
    From the, restart to install, found on the mounted disk. Or are you holding down the option button at start up.
    I would just insert the disk. Then restart your power book and hold down the option button. This should give you the option to boot from the install disk or your HD.
    Are you sure these are retail, their not the grey system disks, are they.
    If their badly scratched or dirty this could be a problem.
     
  4. TheReef macrumors 68000

    TheReef

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NSW, Australia.
    #4
    Hi, it appears as though the minumum OS for your PowerBook is actually 10.2.1

    Your retail disks are likely to be version 10.2.0 of which may be the issue. I know this isn't the answer you want to hear but I'd definitely upgrade to at least Tiger.
     
  5. DaveTheGrey macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #5
    i also would recommend tiger as the os of your choice.
     
  6. Michael S thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #6
    Thanks for your reply, I bought the jaguar discs because I thought they would be the only discs that would boot the machine, would a tiger disc boot the G4?

    thanks for your help, I've tried holding down option but the discs don't come up, i've held down C, thats not working either. No options appear when holding down option because there's no OS on the G4. They are definitely the retail discs and they are in very good condition. I can't understand it

    thanks for your reply, the retail discs are 10.2 which means your probably right (bummer!) do you think it would boot from a panther disc?

    thanks mate, I didn't think tiger would be able to boot an old G4. I have a macbook running tiger. could I use the macbook to help me do you think? (despite it being Intel, prehaps doing something through firewire.
     

Share This Page