G4 Powermac Can I Upgrade It?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by deratoul, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. deratoul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    #1
    I have this old mac and I'm wondering Can i put G5 CPU inside?? or perhaps can I run leopard on it??

    Just try to upgrade his speed a bit and install new itunes and safari..


    Cheers for reply


    just addedd:

    I think it is single core as it only got 500hz on 133 buss but I will check this out when I comeback to home..

    anyone can help please?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
  3. deratoul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    #3
    thats why I need G5 :)
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    If your G4 doesn't have a 867 MHz or faster processor, then you'd need to buy a G5 or other newer computer. You can't replace or upgrade the processor.
     
  5. deratoul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    #5
    Is the processor sealted into motherboard?? or it just motherboard cannot handle G5 processor?

    Just courious do anyone every try it.

    If I cannot upgrade it can to G5 can i buy and install faster G4 then?
     
  6. maccompaq macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #6
    You cannot upgrade it to a G5. The cost to upgrade it to a faster G4 would be more than buying a used G5. Perhaps even more than a new Mac Mini.
     
  7. deratoul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    #7
    GGJstudios.. Can I ran osx 10.3 or 10.4 on it also if you can be that kind??
     
  8. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #8
    Yes.

    Yes... Here's one place that I found after a quick google search. They only have one product available, but more (easy) searching will probably give you more results.

    http://www.sonnettech.com/product/encore_stg4.html
     
  9. deratoul thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    #9
    Thank you very much guys! I will just try to install 10.3 or 10.4 and see if this works.. thank you for advise. I think as you said I gonna go for mac mini
     
  10. maccompaq macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #10
    10.3 and 10.4 will work fine. Leopard on a G4 is slower than Tiger or Panther on that computer.
     
  11. davidw macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    New York City
    #11
    I wouldn't spend a dollar on a machine that old. It's effectively useless even for light web browsing or modern web-based email.

    It would be better worth your while to save up, eBay some stuff you don't need and buy a used Intel iMac.
     
  12. peakchua macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    #12

    when the mac pro comes out get it.. dont waste your time on problems with the g5. especially with the 2X G5 ones. they had liquid cooling and most of them broke down and leaked.. really sad. get a mac pro.. a mac mini or an imac instead. its time you become up to date in your hardware.. trust me.. if your g5 last 3 years, your going to feel really slow compared to others.. just stay up to date
     
  13. JacaByte macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    #13
    I wouldn't upgrade it beyond hard drive space and then using it as a file server of sorts. The cost of upgrading it into something comparable to a decent machine would be more than purchasing a brand new Mac Mini or something.

    Besides, processor upgrade for PPC machines are surprisingly lacking across the internet. I guess it's not viable to make them anymore.
     
  14. maccompaq macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #14
    I have 2 old Blue and White G3 towers running Panther. Processor speeds of 350 GHz and 400 GHz. I turn them on once in a while. They both do well on the Internet and with Photoshop CS (Version 8). Of course, my main machine is a Core i7 running Snow Leopard and Windows 7, 64 bit.
     
  15. SmilesLots macrumors regular

    SmilesLots

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    SW Virginia
    #15
    Shucks, I've got an old old 8600 highly upgraded with a 700 mhz G4, and it can barely run 10.4.11. Just retire those old suckers, get a new 2010 Mac mini or iMac, and be done with the fuss. Believe me (yeah, right) you will save yourself a lot of time, money and frustration. Get a refurb from Apple and you even have the 1 year warranty. I believe you'll be money ahead in the long run.
     

Share This Page