G4 Quicksilver (leopard) wants to restart even if idle

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by 11miles, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. 11miles macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Slovenia (for now)
    #1
    Hi,

    got through the rough install problem on the G4. now running Leopard on it.
    boots pretty quick.

    Dual 1Ghz
    1MB l3 Cache per proccesoor
    1GB DDR SDRAM

    it crashes. when finished booting, but completely idle, the screen is covered by a shade, computer telling me to restart.

    Now if i woudl be doing some heavy duty on it, i would understand the reason for crash...

    Anyone knows the cause of it?

    we had this issues at work with Tiger installed. THoguth it was a bad disk, reinstalled, leopard couldnt be installed. HTen back to original install 10.2, then problems with leopard install.

    Finally got the 10.5 working, the problem is still here?

    What could cause it?

    RAM?

    Something internally?


    TIA, matt
     
  2. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #2
    From your description, that's a kernel panic. About 9/10 times its due to a hardware issue, and the remaining 1/10 its due to software. If you've done clean erase & installs every time on those OS' its time to look at what you have connected to the system other than the keyboard and mouse, or if you added any expansion cards. You should also definitely run the Apple Hardware Test. Its on a special partition of the Mac OS X Install Disc 1 that came with the computer originally, and can only be accessed with the option key held down on startup with the disc inserted. The 'D' key shortcut that you sometimes see in reference to the hardware test is for Intel processor Macs. Run it and see what what it reports.
     
  3. Tyroler macrumors member

    Tyroler

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Hatfield, UK
    #3
    thanx
    Didnt know about the option Key for that.
    Took it with C-Key but froze after few minutes
     
  4. Tanner1294 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #4
    G4 Mac's are notorious for having mixed results when running OS X Leopard. A lot of issues tend to be along the lines of the computer freezing at a blue or gray screen after booting. Most of these tend to be fixed by just doing another Erase & Install of the OS. Also when installing, when you get to the "you are ready to install!" screen, look on the bottom left and you'll see a Customize option. Click that and choose not to install things you don't need. There are MANY printer drivers that most people don't use. For instance, I only have the HP drivers installed because I don't use my PowerMac G4 anywhere where there aren't HP printers (namely my home one). Also you should choose not to install any extra localizations (languages) mainly for space saving.
     
  5. Tyroler macrumors member

    Tyroler

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Hatfield, UK
    #5
    I dont think Leopard on a Quicksilver is a good Idea,as you need a minimum of 2 Gb ram,i would say.
    i just put Tiger on my G4's,except the MDD have Leopard on it

    Here is any which looks me good for Tiger.
    Havent tryed it yet myself
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1215904
     

Share This Page