G4 upgrade completed

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Navare, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. Navare macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #1
    Hello folks

    At long last my old faithful G4 has been dragged kicking and screaming into a new life, it's now my dedicated iTunes machine sporting the following upgrades....

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1360953532.425015.jpg

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1360953543.520241.jpg

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1360953557.280075.jpg

    Nice to give older Mac's a new lease of life...can't decided if I want to leave it Tiger or try a Leopard upgrade now it's got the guns to handle that OS....hmmmm

    Any who onto my G5 upgrade....lol

    Peace

    N.
     
  2. Imixmuan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    #2
    Tiger will run only slightly faster, and Leopard opens up a lot of software, like Leopardwebkit, later versions of iTunes etc. With Tiger though you still have Classic, and that's hella important for some folks.

    Enjoy, that Powermac will still be plenty usuable for what you are planning!
     
  3. CreationArt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    What all was upgraded?

    I see that the ram is now maxed, and the picture displaying the GeForce 3, but could you explain a little more?
     
  4. Navare thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #4
    Processor it's gone from a 533MHz to a 1.2GHz and DVD-Rom installed as well as graphics upgrade....

    I was thinking about SATA drive or SSD convention but more than happy with speeds right now

    Regards

    N.
     
  5. CreationArt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    Ahh, very nice. Did the graphics upgrade help? I don't expect much from this iBook, but its a work in progress. I don't have the money to shell out for an ssd, i'd love to have one, but its not necessary.

     
  6. Navare thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #6
    Oh hells yeah a huge improvement especially running visualizer on a larger monitor nice and smooth and high detail

    All thanks to a fellow members kind generosity

    N.
     
  7. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #7
    You can take pictures of the screen using Grab (located in Applications > Utilities.) It will take tiff files, you can open in preview, save as PNG, upload to MR. Better, easier to see, faster.
     
  8. Navare thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent
    #8
    Nah my iPhone and TapTalk is mucho easier......

    N.
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    Command-Shift-3, even better.
     
  10. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #10
    Except you get the entire screen, Grab you can select regions.
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    For that, use Command-Shift-4.
     

Share This Page