G5 1.8 DP does it run on 1 processor only?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by hwojtek, Feb 1, 2012.

  1. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #1
    My ol' (t)rusty G5 1.8 DP (June 2004, the one with 4 GB RAM limit) has been diagnosed with a damaged processor today. As it's duty is to be a file server only, the CPU power isn't that important, however I have no idea if it is able to run on one processor only? I can ask the service people to physically remove it, will the computer work as a single-CPU machine afterwards? Also, if I managed to find another working 1.8 GHz G5 CPU, will it work after fitted on the motherboard as the second CPU?

    It seems I could have located a processor from a 1.8 single-CPU machine, however I am not quite sure if it comes from the first G5 (with the PowerPC 970 v2.2 CPU) or if it is the later PowerPC 970fx, as in my dual-CPU G5. I assume these two flavors of the G5 are not to be mixed on a single motherboard and I need to find a 970fx 1.8 GHz G5 to revive the computer in dual-processor mode? How do I distinguish between the both types of the 1.8 GHz G5 processor? I can have access to the motherboard of the donor.
     
  2. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    I've got the same model, it's the PowerPC 970FX
     
  3. hwojtek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #3
    Yupp, that seems to be the case, however the question remains: will it work as a single-CPU machine once the faulty processor is removed?
     
  4. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    It should, but CPU must be in upper socket. :)
     
  5. hwojtek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
  6. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    I'll take a look.
    I have 1.8 DP with dead logic board, gotta check CPUs in single 1.8 I have.
    I'll drop you PM if you're not in hurry.
     
  7. hwojtek thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #7
    Please do. I want to revive this thing, not by any cost, but I do want.
     

Share This Page