G5 dead - transfer data??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by clare1, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. clare1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    #1
    My G5 has finally died, and I need to transfer some data from it to IMac (09) on my wireless network. Since the G5 won't boot up (it has a distinct "roar" and the lights blink on and off), I am assuming that I cannot use Migration Assistant. So, do I just need a recovery specialist to make a house call? Thanks so much - my tech expert is away at college!
     
  2. Mr Kram macrumors 68000

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Is it iMac or Power Mac G5? All you need to do is to get the HD from the dead Mac, put it in enclosure and then run Migration Assistant
     
  4. clare1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    #5
    G5 dead

    It's a Power G5. How do I know if HD is dead?
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Put it in an enclosure and connect it to the iMac. If it shows up normally, then it works. The issues you listed makes it look like it was an issue with logic board, so the HD should be fine. At least it's worth it to give it a try
     
  6. modular macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    #7
    the best way to do this would be to take the harddrive out of the computer, and put it in an external enclosure - or another computer, and see if it works.
     
  7. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #8
    If the HD was dead then it should boot up to a screen showing a disk with a question mark, since yours doesn't do that the HD should be fine, just get an external enclosure and put the disk in there.
     

Share This Page