G5 DP 1.8 CPU removal

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by domini99, Dec 2, 2015.

  1. domini99 macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a working Powermac G5 1.8DP lying around, but I would like to remove all the internals and put Hackintosh hardware inside of it.

    Now I have a question,
    The hardware is still fine, if I'm going to take it apart I'm going to have to remove the processors.
    If I would ever want to rebuild the machine as a PowerPC, and reinstall the processors, does it need recalibration? Or is this only when the CPU's are installed in the wrong order (as in, I swapped them) or when installing a new CPU?


    Thanks in advance, Dominique
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    It would need recalibration only if you remove the CPU (and heatsink) from the logicboard itself.

    If you remove the logicboard/CPU/heatsink as one unit then that won't be necessary.
     
  3. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #3
    If you reinstall the processors in the same locations, then the re-calibration should not be necessary.
    However, I do that recalibration after most major hardware work. I think of that as a good stress test. It also runs up all the fans, and you get a quick clue when one of the fans might be dying.
    Otherwise, swapping positions, or replacing one or both CPUs will need that recalibration run.
     
  4. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    I would pull the CPUs either way, but as others have stated, recalibration is required after removing the processors
     
  5. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #5
    That is actually possible?
    I'm gonna have to look into that because I haven't found a way yet to unscrew the board without removing the CPU's.
    Maybe that's because I haven't found a way to remove the G5 CPU cover yet... Damn pin.....

    Why so, if I may ask?
     
  6. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    Its more stable that way IMO, to get the pin out, one of those hooks with a screw, and screw it into the pin and pull
     
  7. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #7
    Oh, well that's an easy way I haven't thought of yet.
    Thanks!
    I'll try tomorrow.
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    LOL!!!

    I found a way to do this when I swapped out the logicboard on a 1.8 SP G5.

    Got if from an Apple tech support document for third party Mac repair stores on a site in Australia.

    So, here's the thing. The pin pops out. You need to get it pulled up using some sort of sharp edge. I used an X-Acto.

    Once you get it up you can pull it out, but then you run into the second problem and that's the casing that the pin goes into. This is actually an easy thing. You know those ceiling hooks that you can hang plants or other stuff from? Get one of those that has a diameter of screw that will fit into the pin casing hole.

    Screw it in. Tight enough to catch the casing, but not all the way. You are using the hook as a lever. Once you have it in tight enough…pull! Work the casing out by walking it if you need to. Once you have it out, you can unscrew it off the hook and replace it when you put things back together.

    Hope that helps!
     
  9. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #9
    Just to restate - Removing the processor, then reinstalling that same processor in the same position will not need a recalibration. If you swap the processor positions (upper to lower), or replace one or both processors, that will need a recalibrate.
    A different logic board, but keeping the same processors in the same positions will also need to have the recalibration performed.
     
  10. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #10
    Standard ATX motherboards won't bolt into the PowerMac G5. You have to remove most of the original standoffs and install an ATX motherboard tray. Furthermore you'll probably have to cut the rear IO panel. So it's basically impossible to go back to PPC.

    Don't worry tho, I got a 5820k with a GTX 980 in my PowerMac G5 and I would never go back to PPC.
     
  11. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #11
    I haven't had any success yet. Gotta keep trying...

    Yea that felt expectable...
    Once I get the mobo out I'm gonna see what I'm gonna do with it.
     
  12. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #12
    No success with - what? removing the logic board? Or, just not removing the CPU heatsink cover?
    Maybe it's just something simple that you might be missing.
    Apple's service manual walks you through how to do that.
    If you don't have that, it's a good resource, and not difficult to find http://www.cwu.edu/~pruittj/powermac_g5.pdf
    Or iFixit.com has good repair guides for that, too.
     
  13. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #13
    Removing the pin, I don't have the right tools at the moment, I'll get some proper tools later on and I'll get that thing out.
     
  14. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #14
    See my reply further up about about the pin. I used an X-Acto and a ceiling hook.
     
  15. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #15
    Like I said, I don't have any of these at the moment and I'm gonna have to get them.
     
  16. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #16
    OK. I just assumed when you said "tools" you had a more 'professional tool' kind of idea in your head. ;)
     
  17. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #17
    Haha currently I only have a basis screwdriver set and basic tools like thermal paste and stuff that is usually enough to take apart any Windows machine.

    But this G5 requires quite a bit more to take apart :S :p
     
  18. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #18
    Removing the CPU requires a long, narrow, hex key. I was lucky and found a multi-bit screwdriver at Home Depot that worked.

    Also keep the factory mobo standoffs until you get your motherboard tray as you'll need to remove some, but keep others for it to fit.
     
  19. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #19
    Got the tools, got the pin out.
    Thanks everybody :)
     
  20. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #20
    No problem! That pin is probably the most annoying thing about the design of the G5s, and the fact that the PSU is all the way at the bottom of the machine so everything comes out to get to it lol
     
  21. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #21
    Lol yea.
    I'm now looking at how I'm going to install my new hardware.
    I think I'm gonna make a custom panel for the power on button, as my current case is also custom built and I can take the USB ports out seperately.
    I'd prefer to have 2 USB ports on the front of my custom Mac instead of a USB and a FireWire.

    Also, getting some custom ATX fans seems easier than rewiring the original fans.
     
  22. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #22
    Take a look at @Goftrey's video on his YouTube channel called "The PowerPC Hub" for a nice G5 hackintosh
     
  23. domini99 thread starter macrumors member

    domini99

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    #23
    I've just been watching his video's, and I saw the video "Power Mac G5: Unboxing"

    It makes me feel kinda sad, because my Powermac G5 is literally almost new. It's barely used, in very very good condition.
    It hasn't been unboxed long enough for dust to even settle in it. It doesn't have a scratch.


    It's been in storage for years and years, it has been forgotten about in a warehouse.
    Someone else got it before me and maxed out the RAM, and later on I bought it from him for a cheapskate price.
     
  24. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #24
    This is my Mac Pro with a 5820k and a GTX 980.

    I rewired the original power button and left the usb 2.0 ports as-is. I don't care too much about front usb 3.0 but if I did, I would buy this conversion kit ( https://www.thelaserhive.com/kits/front-panel-conversion-for-g5mac-pro/ ) or resolder the original usb and firewire port to fit some 3.0 ports off an eBay kit.

    For the motherboard, I am using a mountain mods duel 80mm tray. ( http://www.mountainmods.com/mountain-mods-modular-removable-motherboard-tray-p-56.html ) It requires a bit of cutting around the latch but it works fine. For the PSU I got a Lian Li bracket ( http://www.coolerguys.com/840556088271.html )

    I added a SATA dvd drive because it was cheap but deleting it adds more room for stuff like hard drives or dual gpus.

    The only thing I reused from the original G5 was the hdd cage and pc speaker.

    P.S. I just upgraded the GPU yesterday so I'll relocate the HDDs soon.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page