G5 dual 2.5 don't switch on

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by graphixmotion, Apr 20, 2010.

  1. graphixmotion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #1
    hi!
    i changed the power supply on my G5 dual 2.5 ppc 6 months before,
    (G5 was completly silent when switching on, no click sound of power supply)

    i have again problem with this G5....
    but this time when i swith it on, you can hear one click like in audio amplifiers, and the front diode flash one time only, and then nothing! no fan noise, nothing, silence...

    who can tell me if it's again power supply problem? battery? or mother board?
    or what it can be?
    thanks
     
  2. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  3. raysfan81 macrumors 6502a

    raysfan81

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #3
    I second this. With the G5 the liquid cooling and the PSU were the first to go. If you see rust around the CPU or in the bottom of the case then you probably have a coolant leak which was ,unfortunately, a problem with the later g5s. Too bad because they were one hell of a computer.
     
  4. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #4
    Try resetting the PMU or pressing the little button that's near the bottom memory sockets.
     
  5. graphixmotion thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #5
    pmu,coolant

    pmu reset was done,
    no signs of any leaks of the coolant (aluminium with G5 logo was removed)
    the battery is new..
     
  6. graphixmotion thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #6
    hmm

    ok i found!
    disasembled processors with coolant pump, it's the liquid problem...i feel it on my skin fast...and not very well visible.
    thx
     
  7. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #7
    Call Apple! My G5 had this same problem right before Christmas. They offered a free on-sight repair, but I didn't live close enough. I just had to take it to an Apple Store. So, free repair. That didn't solve the problem, so they replaced my machine with a brand new Mac Pro! 8core, 2.93, 8GB RAM, etc...


    Call Apple!
     

Share This Page