G5 > Energy Saver > Processor Performance option

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Jethryn Freyman, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    [​IMG]

    Anybody got any experience tweaking this? How much does it actually affect performance, has anybody run any kind of tests?

    I'm bored right now so I might have a play.

    ----------

    OK, ran Geekbench:

    Reduced setting:
    [​IMG]

    Highest setting (35.8% faster):
    [​IMG]

    Automatic setting (even faster but not by very much so I guess it's a random variation, you never get quite the same Geekbench score twice):
    [​IMG]

    In conclusion, the Reduced setting is much much more reduced than I had expected. I guess running on Automatic is the best option since the computer seems to give it maximum performance when required.
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    I have heard it suggested that Automatic or Reduced are the best options as they reduce processor load which in turn extends the life of the processor.

    However, due to issues with the OS in 2005 (related to crashing while sleeping) my work Mac (G5) has been set on the Highest setting since early 2005. I have all the sleep settings off and this G5 stays on 24/7 so it's been running at full speed since then (with the occaisional shut down). Never had a problem with life. Perhaps it may peform a bit better on Automatic, but Highest is working for me.
     
  3. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #3
    I've always run mine at the highest performance option. If I wasn't interested in speed, I'd have gotten a slower computer.
     
  4. adcx64 macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #4
    I dont see this option on my MDD. Does it not support this?
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    Some Macs adjust this on the fly and therefore you cannot set it. My 1Ghz PowerBook is this way.
     
  6. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #6
    I'm not sure if G4 desktops had the feature or not. My iMac G4 or G4 Cube have it. Unfortunately, I don't have my G4 Mini anymore which would have been the newest G4 desktop I ever owned.
     
  7. adcx64 macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #7
    Do you know of any utilities to do this? Id like to try this out.
     
  8. lgwells1 macrumors regular

    lgwells1

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    COMO
    #8
    I saw this and decided to do my own testing.

    I am using Geek Bench (64-Bit) With the latest updates for 10.5.8. Each batch of test were done back to back. Here are my specs from my G5 Dual 1.8.

    [​IMG]


    Test 1: No Restart(Running for several weeks) Set on Automatic

    1.1569
    2.1579
    3.1615
    4.1600
    5.1602

    Average - 1593


    Test 2: Restarted G5 - Set on Automatic

    1.1596
    2.1602
    3.1639
    4.1631
    5.1623

    Average - 1618.2


    Test 3: Restarted G5 - Set on Reduced

    1.1188
    2.1181
    3.1175
    4.1199
    5.1191

    Average - 1186.8


    Test 4: Restarted G5 - Set on Highest

    1.1611
    2.1639
    3.1610
    4.1606
    5.1594

    Average - 1612
     

Share This Page