G5 for video editing?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by jayeskreezy, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. jayeskreezy, Nov 9, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2010

    jayeskreezy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #1
    I've been looking for a desktop and I'm considering picking up an Apple G5 for my larger video editing needs. The cost is $200. Do you think it'd be able to handle the load and would it be worth it? Also, can it operate the latest software?

    When I say latest I mean things like ilife 11', Final Cut 7 (I don't install most of the other things in the studio, b/c I prefer the Adobe CS5 suite more), Logic Pro 8, Pro Tools, etc.?
     
  2. boch82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #2
    No, you need and intel based mac to run FCP 7 and all new editing software
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    That depends on your video editing needs. At work we used a G5 for our SD broadcast TV shows until last year, even with multiple cameras.

    If you want to go HD, you should look into an Intel Mac.

    And as the G5 uses a PPC CPU, you need to use PPC compatible software, as FCS 3 can only be used on Intel machines, though workarounds exist for that.

    When you say "latest Apple software", do you mean software by Apple? If so, go to Apple.com and look for yourself.

    If you mean "latest Mac OS X software", as in software for Mac OS X, then you need to be more specific, as many video editing software titles (the latest - the bestest?) require an Intel CPU now, as it has been four years since the Mac Pro was introduced.


    There are still older software titles available (via second hand), which can run on PPC hardware. Thus the No is only partly true, unless you only refer to the last question of the OP.
     
  4. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    I think, based on the OPs software ideas/requirements he should look into getting a (admittedly 20* as expensive) Mac Pro. The G5 would however suit his needs perfectly if he could survive with FCS2, Logic Studio 1 etc (Im planning on adding a G5 to my Machine Line-up at some point just to run all the PowerPC software addins I had running on my G4, while I can replicate most of them in FCS3, some stuff you just gotta do on a PowerPC Machine...)
     
  5. wheezy macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #5
    A $200 G5 isn't going to be high on the G5 spec chart, you're almost better off just buying an older C2Duo Mac Mini, it's A:Intel and B:Faster. Only downside is limited Memory on a Mini.
     
  6. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    The other downside with a Mini is its very limited graphics cards (Graphics Cards: The only reason I bought a Mac Pro instead of an iMac), and less expandability (The OP mentioned Logic, if hes going to run any form of audio an expandable chassis is so much easier, especially when you run out of ports, which can be a real pain xD
     
  7. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    If it was free or the person was giving you $200 plus the G5 I would think about it but otherwise it's not worth it, IMO. Apple and third parties are leaving the G5 way behind and many popular cameras out there use codecs that will slow a G5 to a crawl compared to any intel based Mac. Unless there is a specific niche you need a G5 to fill, like you have an AJA card that only works w/G5's and you use it to layoff a weekly show to your BetaSP deck, it's a waste of money, IMO.


    Lethal
     
  8. jayeskreezy thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #8
    Thanks everyone for your input. Yeah, it just doesn't seem worth it at this point.
     
  9. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    Agreed.

    With a G5, you're going to be limited to working mostly in SD if you want anything that resembles an efficient workflow. With the exception of perhaps DVCPRO-HD, most HD codecs are going be downright frustrating to cut with a PPC machine, not to mention the extremely slow render times.

    If your budget is tight, I'd also shop around for a used C2D iMac - even the older white models are leaps and bounds faster than any G5. iMacs are limited in expansion, but it's a good place to start if you can't afford a Mac Pro.
     

Share This Page