g5 help

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by yedweeeezy, Mar 4, 2011.

  1. yedweeeezy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #1
    hello im buying this computer here are the specs is it a good one to learn video editing ie avid finalcut also going to use as a browsing and broadcasting an internet show webcams and mics please any help would be appreciated
    Apple PowerMac G5 (Tower)

    OSX 10.4.11 – Clean install, including latest updates.
    Itunes, quicktime and other standard programs included.

    Processor: Dual 2.5 GHz Power PC G5
    Memory: 4 GB DDR SDRAM
    Bus Speed: 1.25 GHz

    2 DVI ports for dual monitors

    2 Internal hard drives: 280 GB + 240 GB = 520 GB total

    Original system discs included

    CD/DVD drive: DVD+R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW (all formats)

    5 Firewire ports
    5 USB ports
    Ethernet port
    Modem port
    Optical in/out

    Graphics card: ATI Radeon X800 XT (R420)
    Wireless: AirPort Extreme
     
  2. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #2
    Depends. Final Cut Pro doesn't support the G5s anymore, but an old version would run.
     
  3. yedweeeezy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #3
    g5

    yea like version six 2-6 for fc not sure yet... but do you think it would be a good computer to broadcast over internet and edit with with those specs not at same time just to use as booth for primary functions
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    That's risky.

    I'd get an Intel at the very least. PowerPC support is fading away fast.
     
  5. yedweeeezy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #5
    g5

    i thought about getting an intel imac but it doesn't connect to a second monitor so i cant do that and the new intel macs are to expensive beyond that
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #6
    Intel iMacs work with second monitors.
     
  7. MacHamster68, Mar 4, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #7
    sure all iMac will connect to a second display starting with iMac g3 ..G4..G5...all intels , they all had a port for connecting a second display , ok the G3 is the only one which can only mirror the internal display , but all the others are capable of using extended desktop the intels anyway , and the g4 and g5 can do it after using screen spanning doctor , as apple had disabled the feature to get customers to buy PowerMac's back then

    and i think if you want to just work with final cut and avid and not on a pro basis then you can perfectly work with a older version of that software on a PowerMac , of course the faster the better and the GPU is important too
     
  8. yedweeeezy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #8
    imac

    how about this instead iMac 20 Inch widescreen
    2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor
    4GB ram
    320 GB hard drive
    Built in iSight video camera
    1 FireWire 800 port, 1 FireWire 400 port, 3 USB 2.0 ports, 2 USB 2.0 ports on keyboard
    Apple Keyvoard
    Mighty Mouse

    Snow Leopard OS
     
  9. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
  10. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #10
    Do not buy a 2.5GHz G5, the liquid cooling system WILL eventually fail and destroy logicboard.
     

Share This Page