G5 internals into a G4 case?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by oi!, Jul 7, 2016.

  1. oi! Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #1
    OK, so a while a go I stumbled on basically this question asked on a forum...
    "Can you put a G5 internals into a G4 case?"


    So, can you?
    Well, yes!
    You can either extend the case several inches, which is very difficult and very time consuming.
    Or simply trim off the excess motherboard length with something like a Dremel, or a table saw - at the slight cost of impaired functionality.


    So realistically that would be a "No." then, just as the answer given on that site?

    Well, maybe just possibly not.
    I found on eBay the Apple 630-6626 820-1608-A mother board (part #661-3335 ). From a 2004/05 year 1.8 single processor model, it's smaller and the layout is different to every other G5 I know.
    Anyone here know the dimensions? I couldn't find them on the net even after a fair bit of googling.

    Also, what upgrade options are there for this?

    Would I be able to slot in a 2.0Ghz dual core CPU (+heat sink) from PCIe model? (I only ask as I have one lying around)

    Do I remember that G5 models can use ECC ram sticks (but do not make use of the ECC facility)?
    If I slotted in 4 sticks, 2Gb each, would it recognize all 8Gb?
    I ask that because I found these...
    http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_odk...id=m570.l1313&_nkw=HP+373030-051&_sacat=11210
     
  2. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Black Mesa Research Facility
    #2
    First an Intel Compute Stick + Raspberry Pi Laptop Case HackBook idea, now the G5-in-a-G4 idea. What can you say, this board doesn't lack any ambition :D
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    Considering all the heat issues I've had with a dual Sonnet G4 upgrade in a G4 case AND all the issues you've had with your MDD the question is just ridiculous!

    Yes. You could force the internals in - maybe.

    Would you be able to use it? HELL NO!

    The G5 has specifically designed thermal zones for every model, sometimes down to specific processors in a certain model. If you could even get the damn thing to start I doubt you'd make it to the login screen before the chip had melted down. Without the G5 case there's just no cooling!!!
     
  4. oi! thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #4
    If the board fits on the door, and you can still close it, then everything else is just repositioning components.
    After all, you only really need a mobo on the door, with a CPU and heat sink attached, a GPU, cables and wires.

    A PSU (could be external).
    Hard drive/SSD (could be external).
    CD/DVD, optional (could be external).
    9 Fans, some could be external (you could even add extra*).

    Dust and fluff (optional).




    * Ultimately**, 4 Delta AFC1512DG 150mm fans, 2 on the front blowing in, 2 on the back sucking out...
    http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_odk...1512DG.TRS0&_nkw=delta+AFC1512DG&_sacat=58058

    ** Short of using liquid nitrogen, I'm not up for that!
     
  5. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Black Mesa Research Facility
    #5
    No no no, Erik, you don't get it. It's gonna be an oven. The door on the side of G4 cases is ideal for this. Just pop it open, throw in whatever you want to bake, turn it on, and bam, done within seconds by the power of the PowerPC G5 processor! :D
     
  6. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    In general you can not interchange G5 processors between models-the boards are pretty tightly tied to the shipping processor.

    I'm nearly positive that a 970MP will not in any way work on a board designed for a standard 970.

    Aside from that, in general trimming boards-especially a complex multi-layer board like a G5 LB-is a very bad idea. You can "smear" traces together and cause more problems than you ever imagined.
     
  7. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Black Mesa Research Facility
  8. oi! thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #8
    ^LOL^



    Have done a little research on this, it would appear that the 1.8 model I'm interested in, is bizarrely hot running!

    Allegedly, it uses more power (and therefore generates more heat) than a Quad core, according to this article...
    http://lowendmac.com/2014/which-power-supply-works-in-my-power-mac-g5/
    Apparently it uses 522W! However, it only ships with a 450W PSU, so as far as I am concerned the 522W usage figure is busted.
    How/where/when this myth started I don't know, but Apple would not ship a 522W machine with a 450W PSU. Period.

    Late G4 shipped with a 360W PSU and early models shipped with a 400W PSU.
    Difference between 360W and 450W is 90W, or 25%.
    The difference between 400W and 450W is just 50W, or 12.5%.

    Still think the heat difference is insurmountable?

    Or did the 1.8 machines ship with a higher wattage PSU?



    I was suggesting (tongue in cheek) trimming several inches off one or both ends of the PCB with a table saw, and pointing out that it wouldn't work afterwards.
    Don't get me wrong, an electronics engineer could bridge wires across and re-attach the severed portion electrically, in theory.
    In practice they're far more likely to either laugh at you, or tell you to get lost if you actually asked them to do it.

    I think I remember that the single processor 1.8 CPU is compatible with the 1.6 single processor CPU. A performance downgrade, but possibly a small but potentially useful heat reduction. Not sure though.
     
  9. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    An oven set on self cleaning mode maybe? ;)
     
  10. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    Man Erik! If this thread keeps pumping ideas like this out, we may find ourselves on Shark Tank getting millions!
     
  11. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #11
    I believe that the 1.8 on the board you're referencing is soldered in place-it's sort of kind of an iMac in a tower case.

    Aside from that, unless you're doing something that requires the G5 instruction set or you need 4gb of RAM, there virtually no reason to do this. The dual 1.42 G4 benchmarks higher than both the 1.6 and the single 1.8, and shows a pronounced "real world" difference in multi-threaded tasks than faster clocked single G5. Even a dual 1.25 Geekbenches higher than a 1.6.
     
  12. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #12
    Jeez Oi... we have 2 names for people like you, first one begins with Matthew and ends with LTL. Second begins with Rabidz and ends with 7. You know what Matthew and Rabidz did before getting banned on here (multiple times, might I add)? They came up with outlandish ideas, not much unlike this one. Let me list a few example:

    Matthew suggested hanging hard drives with, and I quote, "glue, tape, gum, or magnets". Matthew also suggested cutting off the extra support part of a full length GPU because "it was just wasted space and not important".

    Rabidz, besides looking up lethal d*ug combinations on Reddit, had made many claims about putting new GPUs into AGP G5s, overclocking Apple G5 chips to 3GHz+, Apple G4 chips at 1.9GHz, claiming Snow Leopard could be installed on PowerPCs, as well as claiming to be able to put crazy high amounts of RAM into his Macs. I think at some point he even claimed to get a Core (2) Duo into a PowerPC by soldering it on.

    As you can see, these people have insane theories much like yours, like putting a G5 board and CPU into a poor MDD, which is fully not cabable of fitting such a large board, let alone cooling the Supercomputer 64bit CPU that is the G5. The MDD as is can barely cook, er cool, itself properly, as proven by the increasing amount of dying PSUs and other components in these MDDs. So, as many before me have said, you are out of your mind, and it cannot be done.

    Suggested activities to do instead of trying to put a G5 into a G4 MDD case: Read a book, binge on Netflix, Netflix and cHill, take up politics, make fun of politics, cure cancer, go outside, find the answer to life, pray to your god of choice, rant about outlandish ideas posted by people on an Internet forum, watch paid programming on TV, play a sport, get a pet, discuss the theory of relativity, blow stuff up (according to federal and state legislation as acts of terror are not condoned by MacRumors), go on a date, reflect on your life, and lastly, become a YouTube sensation which can then take care of your job, income, and free time all in one shot!

    Paid for the Public Awareness of Bad Ideas group. © 2016. All rights reserved. MacRumors is a trademark of MacRumors.com, LLC. Apple, G5, G4, Mac, Power Mac, MDD are Registered trademarks of Apple, Inc.
     
  13. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #13
    Shoot, if I had a 1.8GHz Single G5 board I'd be willing to shoehorn it into my Digital Audio, would need to make a harness to use a normal PSU with the G5 board.
     
  14. Adamscomputerrepair macrumors 6502

    Adamscomputerrepair

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    #14

    It's not a theory anymore. It can be done. I'm still debating on whether or not I want to do it. Glad you remembered me though!
     
  15. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #15
    There's no such thing as a bad idea .....



    Oh hang on. :D
     
  16. oi!, Jul 8, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2016

    oi! thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #16
    You're right, it is. :(

    Dual 1.42 G4's have been unobtainable here for some time. Price in US + shipping to here is is totally unaffordable (for me).
    Dual 1.25's are now extremely rare and hard to find here.
    4GB ram has to be good, but actually needing it, well... maybe not need as such.
    (8Gb would have been even better)

    A word of advice, if you do this, don't tell Gamer9430 or LightBulbFun about it.
     
  17. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
  18. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Black Mesa Research Facility
    #18
    LOL! :D
    You keep digging your reputation further in the mud around these places, man.:rolleyes:
     
  19. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #19
    a word of advice to Oi, dont tell people a word of advice about other people online, since they may just see it... Also, LBF, Gavin, and I are all good friends... along with MagicBoy, Daniel, Bunn, MacCubed, Erik... you've got just about every person in here in a legion! :p
     
  20. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Black Mesa Research Facility
    #20
    At least LBF and G9430 don't think about dremmeling multi-layer PCBs :D
     
  21. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #21
    I think I paid about $150 for my dual 1.42. I know that's not cheap, but it's less expensive than, say, buying a big pile of video cards that won't work. The processors also turn up from time to time also-they will work fine provided that you also get the copper heatsink.

    I bought my dual 1.25 locally in a package deal, so can't pin down a specific price(I actually went to buy a 21" CRT and ended up with car load of stuff).

    Even so, if you need RAM in a PowerPC Mac, just go with a G5. I love my G4s, but there comes a time where you get around to the fact that they're limited in what they can do.
     
  22. oi! thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #22
    Did you mean 'clique'?



    Did you not read post #1 of this thread, or did you not understand the words?
     
  23. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #23
    I just checked Earth's surface with the post office, but they couldn't quote me. Ah well.
     
  24. Daniël Oosterhuis macrumors 6502a

    Daniël Oosterhuis

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Location:
    Black Mesa Research Facility
    #24
    I did. And since the idea was that absurd, I assumed you were being serious in that post. Glad to know you weren't actually thinking about putting a G5 in a G4 case, and were just joking around. If it were, that'd be pretty stupid!
     
  25. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #25

    No, I meant a legion to fight for awareness of bad ideas and misinformation on the internet... we meet every Tuesday and have coffee and biscuits. Oh, and we also collect macs and talk about cars.
     

Share This Page