G5 no analog sound out

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by xtempo, Jan 2, 2014.

  1. xtempo macrumors 6502

    xtempo

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #1
    Hi,

    I can't get my analog line out to work. I first had a problem with sound in general then I was able to get the speaker to work because it wasn't plug in.

    Does it matter about the cable and which to use?

    Also can the jack get loose or something?

    I got this G5 used and don't have discs.

    OS X 10.5.8
    1.6 GHZ
    1.5 GB RAM
    with Apple Cinema Display 17" ADC and Samsung 19" Widescreen monitor

    thanks for the help.

    receiver is Sherwood RX4109 with works with my Compaq.
     
  2. tigerintank macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    #2
    Not sure the analog out is a line out - isn't it a dual headphone/digital port?

    If it is then worth checking the volume is above zero.
     
  3. xtempo thread starter macrumors 6502

    xtempo

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #3
    there's a jack under the optical out that is analog out. (i have not tried the optical since I would need a longer cable or move it to the other receiver)
    here's what the audio windows show:

    [​IMG]

    the internal speaker and headphones work.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    Can you get audio to your receiver from the headphone port on the front of the G5?
     
  5. xtempo, Jan 2, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2014

    xtempo thread starter macrumors 6502

    xtempo

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #5
    never mind it works now so I don't know what happen.

    at least I finally signed up since I've been reading this site for a long time :D

    I should ask anyway:

    how does optical in and out work on the G5? do I need software? I would like to record from my MiniDiscs.

    thanks for the help.
     
  6. tigerintank macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    #6
    ah sorry about that - I was referring to the mini, mbp and iMacs.

    I did recently acquire a MP (later version of your G5) but not really got to use it too much yet - hence the mistake :eek:
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    Your PM G5 has dedicated optical S/PDIF ports on the back that take standard Toslink connectors. Connect your device, and choose the digital port in your Sound pref pane.
     
  8. xtempo thread starter macrumors 6502

    xtempo

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    #8
    I got audacity for recording. (had it on win-didn't know there was one for leopard) which works

    I have tried the optic al out hooked up to a MD player and that doesn't seem to work. Any ideas?

    I get DIN locked on the MD player when I try to record on a MD from the mac.

    thanks everyone for the help.
     

Share This Page