G5 PowerMac RAM

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by DanElusive, Aug 29, 2013.

1. DanElusive macrumors newbie

I am using a 2 x 2.3Ghz PowerMac. I have seen some 4GB RAM sticks on ebay that will fit into the ram slots, but they are listed as 'Mac server ram'. Will this RAM work ok in my machine? I am a music producer and CAD designer and work the computer quite hard on occasion so I didn't want to mince around buying 1GB sticks, but to buy the highest I could to slowly fill up the 8 slots available. Below is the link to the ram I am looking to buy so long as it's suitable.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/230959196983?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

Maybe someone has some advice on what is the maximum ram available for my mac or the best solution for me?

Thanks a lot,

Dan.

2. Swampus macrumors 6502

Swampus

Some 4GB modules will work, but the most total memory that can be used is 16GB.

Honestly, though, I think 16GB is plenty for just about anything under Leopard.

It would probably be more economical to max out with 2GB modules.

3. DanElusive thread starter macrumors newbie

Thats very helpful buddy, I will now be going for the 2GB cards. Thanks a lot!

Dan.

4. magilla macrumors regular

Visit the Other World Computing Site "over here" (www.macsales.com) for a really great overview of RAM upgrade possibilities. As far as I've seen though, server RAM differs from OEM or aftermarket installed RAM for non-server models.

Also, with the volatility and stability problems of RAM, I'd seriously re-consider buying any for of RAM on eBray (UK or US). You just don't know how it's been handled or stored (maybe sitting next to a nice fat RF source for instance) or with jelly fingerprints on it only to be cleaned up for an ultimate housecleaning sale. Plus, what happens if it croaks in a year? Warranty? Bad RAM leads to bas system performance and serious system problems.

Buy through a reliable source and you won't go wrong.

5. rickvanr, Aug 29, 2013