G5 PPC Graphics card for hi res tv

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by e999, Mar 10, 2018.

  1. e999 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    #1
    Hi Folks. My first post. Can anyone recommend a graphics card for my mac (PPC 10.5.8 1.8GHz 7GB RAM) to drive the TV I just bought? I tried it with my existing graphics card (ATI Radeon 9600 Pro) and the resolution is terrible. I would like to use the tv (720p) as the main monitor for Logic Pro so the res needs to be high.
    Is there anyone out there who can help?
    Cheerz
     
  2. tdbmoss macrumors 6502

    tdbmoss

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    #2
    What resolutions are available in System Preferences? It should work fine, my early 2005 G5 has its original 9600 card and works fine at 1920x1080 (on a monitor, but a TV should be the same assuming the issue isn't with any adapter you are using e.g. to convert to HDMI).
     
  3. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    The 9600 can easily handle 720p, but I would imagine your TV would have a much higher resolution than that. To get resolutions higher than 1080p from your G5, you would need an AGP 8x GPU with a Dual-link DVI output like the Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT or Ultra DDL for a maximum resolution of 2560x1600.

    The ATI Radeon X800 XT also offers dual-link DVI output and there could have been others.

    The second part is, does your TV have DVI input? If not then you have to adapt to a different standard, like HDMI. I haven’t had any luck getting resolutions higher than 1080p from HDMI adapted from A dual-link DVI, but maybe it’s possible with the right adapter. You may be able to adapt dual-link DVI to Display Port which the TV should handle.
     
  4. benwild_33 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    #4
    How big is the TV? 720p will look terrible on anything much bigger than 20" or so. You should be able to output a maximum of 1920x1200 which should mean any 1080p to should be good. 4K TVs are out of the question though as there are no PowerPC cards with DisplayPort or HDMI 2.0
     

Share This Page

3 March 10, 2018